www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Rise of the Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 23-01-20, 09:19   #1
New Dwight
Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,716
Default Serious pixelation problem

RUnning the game at max settings w/ SSAA @ 1080p and I get a big pile of pixlated and shimmering mess on walls, floor, objects, and lara. why?
https://i.imgur.com/pRO5zvw.png
very off putting

Last edited by Rai; 23-01-20 at 17:06. Reason: oversized image converted to link
New Dwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-20, 09:43   #2
_Seth
Archaeologist
 
_Seth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England ♂
Posts: 1,853
Default

This game never received true anti-aliasing outside of the Xbox 360 (weirdly) and the Xbox One versions. I emailed Nixxes about the PC version back in the day and they didn't offer the courtesy of a reply.

There is a mod that can force AA on, but I guess I've always been too stupid to figure out how to do it properly.
__________________
Cemeteries are the safest place in the world; it's the living you should fear.
_Seth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-20, 12:47   #3
Zsott
Archaeologist
 
Zsott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: France
Posts: 1,978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by New Dwight View Post
RUnning the game at max settings w/ SSAA @ 1080p and I get a big pile of pixlated and shimmering mess on walls, floor, objects, and lara. why?
[img]https://i.imgur.com/pRO5zvw.png[/img
very off putting
That is new to me...
Did you checked your resolution scale in the options?
(I think it's right under the resolutions)
Zsott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-20, 21:40   #4
New Dwight
Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Seth View Post
This game never received true anti-aliasing outside of the Xbox 360 (weirdly) and the Xbox One versions. I emailed Nixxes about the PC version back in the day and they didn't offer the courtesy of a reply.

There is a mod that can force AA on, but I guess I've always been too stupid to figure out how to do it properly.
This is sad. SSAA is already a taxing penalty, to no avail. I try ogssaa is even more costly, why of all games would this have such issue on PC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zsott View Post
That is new to me...
Did you checked your resolution scale in the options?
(I think it's right under the resolutions)
resolution scale is only for windowed mode, I'm in fullscreen, and its still set to max. this looks like the result of bad AA?
New Dwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-20, 15:36   #5
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,782
Default

This is normal on PC actually. The reason why everything looks that way is because Nixxis did a bad job porting the game to PC. They did not include proper AA when porting the game. I would avoid using SSAA as its currently bugged and may cause glitches here and there.

The best AA option would be to force SSAA by using a program called reshade and disabling the in game AA option.

To be honest they should have included TAA with this game as the many details in the graphics, especially the ice are far too complex geometry for even SSAA being forced to handle and thus you will still have shimmering pixels even when it's forced. Still it's worth forcing since it does improve some of the shimmering a bit.
__________________
Black Lives Matter #George Floyd
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-20, 09:50   #6
Maverin
Archaeologist
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,517
Default

The AA is pure horror in this game. It's so bad that whenever I reach the first huge HUB with all the bare trees, I just get annoyed to death and quit playing. The trees look absolutely horrible. It's one of the biggest complaints I have about this game. If I ever get around buying a very strong gaming computer in the future which can force better graphics, then maybe I'll also start appreciating this game a little more.
__________________
Remember
Maverin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-20, 12:36   #7
Emix
Relic Hunter
 
Emix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6,556
Default

Try using FXAA, it will make thing little blurry but it looked the best in Rise as i remember.
Emix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-20, 00:44   #8
New Dwight
Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by charmedangelin View Post
This is normal on PC actually. The reason why everything looks that way is because Nixxis did a bad job porting the game to PC. They did not include proper AA when porting the game. I would avoid using SSAA as its currently bugged and may cause glitches here and there.

The best AA option would be to force SSAA by using a program called reshade and disabling the in game AA option.

To be honest they should have included TAA with this game as the many details in the graphics, especially the ice are far too complex geometry for even SSAA being forced to handle and thus you will still have shimmering pixels even when it's forced. Still it's worth forcing since it does improve some of the shimmering a bit.
i long for search find a reshade that has SSAA, where u find? reshade only has fxaa and msaa. will SGSSAA via nvidia inspect work for RoTTR? OGSSAA is too taxing on his pc
-i agree, games of this high detail need stronger AA methods.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverin View Post
The AA is pure horror in this game. It's so bad that whenever I reach the first huge HUB with all the bare trees, I just get annoyed to death and quit playing. The trees look absolutely horrible. It's one of the biggest complaints I have about this game. If I ever get around buying a very strong gaming computer in the future which can force better graphics, then maybe I'll also start appreciating this game a little more.
yeah, i see now. bad for a game this detailed to have such poor AA where AA is needed. same here. the huge pixelation is an eye sore is is deteriorating on game's actually LOD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emix View Post
Try using FXAA, it will make thing little blurry but it looked the best in Rise as i remember.
currently have set to fxaa (till find ssaa reshade)
agree it is better, SMAA i see no affect ?
New Dwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-20, 15:58   #9
New Dwight
Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,716
Default

found solution:
in nvidia control panel 3D settings - for rise of the tomb raider profile- set anti aliasing mode to Enhance the application.
__________________
admin deactivated account
New Dwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-20, 15:00   #10
AdenClements
Historian
 
AdenClements's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Natla's left breast
Posts: 295
Default

I discovered the same problem on revisiting ROTTR. It's almost as if the internal resolution is lower than the rendering resolution, as the gameplay is much more pixellated than it was previously.

If you're an Nvidia user, turning on Multi-Frame Sampled Anti-Aliasing in the Nvidia control panel will solve the problem.
__________________
Drink too much from a bottle marked 'poison' it is certain to disagree with you
AdenClements is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.