www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-11, 21:26   #201
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,427
Default

Very good!
The merge feature works well, as does assigning the weight values for water effects!

I've used the wieght feature on a fountain that I merged into the roomgeometry.
So now the water in the fountain is moving and the bowl of the fountain has the reflection effect in it.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.

Last edited by Titak; 11-02-11 at 21:27.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 22:10   #202
deskj
Archaeologist
 
deskj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 1,227
Default

i'm still totally new to meta2tr 'cause in the last months i couldn't edit and i couldn't learn it as well
i was curious about testing out myself this last feature about merging all the statics (and animatings of 1 mesh) in the room geometry

what i did was dragging my tr4 file on meta2tr.exe (after making the list of all the objects i want merged in in that txt file), so i opened the RoomAll.mqo generated in meta to see if everything went right (every obj was merged in the room, cool!)

so i dragged all the mqo files generated (the RoomAll.mqo, the ones of the statics too and all the other mqo files i had) on meta2tr.exe again to generate a new tr4 file

i renamed the newlevel.tr4 file created as i needed, moved it to trle data folder and started playing to test it... but no static was merged in the geometry

what did i do wrong? I'm sorry if this could be a dummy question, as i said i've never used meta2tr before and i just wanted to test this feature

u can still answer me "go to hell and study how the tool works from the basics" if needed, 'cause i think i deserve it in this case
deskj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 22:52   #203
meta2tr
Historian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Default

As far as I can tell, you're doing everything right.
How did you check if the object was merged or not when you played the new level?

Edit: not all movables can be merged, only those with a single mesh. You can see if there were any objects in your list that couldn't be merged if you check report.txt.

Last edited by meta2tr; 11-02-11 at 23:05.
meta2tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 23:13   #204
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,427
Default

Looks like you did the right thing.
But you will have to hold some sort of light (torch/flare/PLS) near the static to see if it is indeed merged.
Because they keep the lighting you assigned to them in the LE but when holding a light close to them they will be affected by the light from torch/flare/PLS.
Non-merged statics won't be affected by those lights.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 23:18   #205
deskj
Archaeologist
 
deskj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 1,227
Default

too see if the objs were merged i gave a look to the roomall mqo and everything seems to have been merged perfectly! I also checked one of the statics mqo to see if it was empty, and it was

but when i play the new tr4 generated, they're not, but i'm doing something wrong for sure, since it works good for titia!

ps. it's normal that colors are like washed out, right? :P
[IMG]http://i55.************/biqywx_th.jpg[/IMG]
deskj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 23:20   #206
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,427
Default

Did you hold a torch/flare/PLS near them ingame, like I suggested?
If so, do they still not react to those lights?
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 23:22   #207
deskj
Archaeologist
 
deskj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sicily, Italy
Posts: 1,227
Default

sorry titak, i read ur post just now!

this is the result ingame (whocares if i spoil it lol, i think i won't release this level at the end)

[IMG]http://i56.************/2ry0akl_th.jpg[/IMG]

the steps react like they did before (they're in animating slots.. of one mesh as said before), but not all the other statics (like the column)
deskj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 23:29   #208
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,427
Default

Hmmm... strange.
They do react to lights in my case...

No idea what might have been going wrong at your end.
Better wait untill psiko or meta2tr come online again. I'm not really an expert on Meta2TR and I might be overlooking something in the converting process you have performed.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-11, 23:50   #209
AgentXP
Professor
 
AgentXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At the computer
Posts: 2,548
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deskj View Post
sorry titak, i read ur post just now!

this is the result ingame (whocares if i spoil it lol, i think i won't release this level at the end)

[IMG]http://i56.************/2ry0akl_th.jpg[/IMG]

the steps react like they did before (they're in animating slots.. of one mesh as said before), but not all the other statics (like the column)
*Off topic* but is that your version of the tutorial level that you made for the tut project? It still remember that it looked stunning. This part looks great too, shame if it won't ever be released. *Back on topic*
__________________
“Waiting is for the patient” (Croft, 2006).
AgentXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-11, 00:13   #210
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,607
Default

I am solving deskj's issue in chat, something was missing in his process (those are the first times he uses metasequoia), now it is all fine the tool works greatly, it wasn't its guilty
Edit: it was because his trle folder was under program files, and 7 does not allow changes in it

Last edited by psiko; 12-02-11 at 00:30.
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.