www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider III

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-10-22, 11:36   #21
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 4,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
that.. shouldn't happen, it doesn't happen on my side, what settings do you have on?
I put everything ON which was possible to do so. Hmm... maybe it's something with no crystal patch? I had this installed for nlnm.
__________________
Press F to type F.
DJ Full is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 12:34   #22
Teeth
Archaeologist
 
Teeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South West, UK
Posts: 2,057
Default

Thank you for all your hard work Troye I just have a few issues;
  1. The Nvidia transparency fix doesn't seem to work, so my game still looks like this.
  2. I can't run the game in resolutions higher than 1920x1080 - any plans to add 4K support down the line?
  3. FMVs won't run at all, I just get a black screen for a few seconds and then the game carries on
  4. What do the disable_colorkey reg functions do?

I'm sure you'll sort all this out and make the definitive TR3 experience soon enough
Teeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 12:49   #23
JOHN30011887
Historian
 
JOHN30011887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: UK, SCOTLAND
Posts: 262
Default

Nice to see this game getting some love

For now i will stick to the dgvoodoo fix i use since i still got a line down the menu images and tiny font with tomb3 (which dgvoodoo fixes).

Also hope all the reg files are just temp since its early days and it will look like tomb 4 and tomb 5 someday, but nice to see things getting fixed
__________________
I make Game Icons, Check my Profile page for info :D
JOHN30011887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 13:29   #24
ATombRaiderFan
Explorer
 
ATombRaiderFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeth View Post
  1. The Nvidia transparency fix doesn't seem to work, so my game still looks like this.
  2. What do the disable_colorkey reg functions do?
Both are related. Try the disable_colorkey_ON.reg option, it should fix your transparency issue (it did in my case).

Before | After

ATombRaiderFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 15:59   #25
DenisTheRaider
Hobbyist
 
DenisTheRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Offshore Rig
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
Hi everyone!
Today I am announcing a little project that has been in the works for a bit, a few knew this day was coming already, and here it is! the tomb3 project!

just like tomb5 and tomb4, it is a decompilation project that, first and foremost aims to document and preserve the original source code and assets of the game, and secondly, aims to provide bug fixes and gameplay improvements in many sections of the game.

We are fully open source, and our code can be used anywhere under the aforementioned license in the repository, along with credit

Check out the changelog for the full list of fixes and additions! Highlights include: PSX Bars, fixed bugs, properly scaled effects, and much more!

Grab it here: releases page

Please make sure to read the using guide, it has important info and answers to a lot of frequently asked questions. if you can't find your answer there, be sure to ask in here

few screens:






Happy Raiding!
Thank you SO SO MUCH! Recently i wanted to replay TR3 but I couldnt find any patches untill this! Now I'll have a much more better expreience! May God Bless you!
DenisTheRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 17:44   #26
SLAYER
Archaeologist
 
SLAYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jordan
Posts: 2,259
Default

Great news! now all the classics are covered.
__________________
Right now, I'm losing patience
SLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-22, 19:05   #27
.snake.
Inactive
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 3,382
Default

Been waiting for this!

Thank you so much for creating this Troye and for your all your hard work with these engine patches. You've helped save the classics now.
.snake. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-22, 02:24   #28
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Invercargill
Posts: 1,437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Full View Post
I put everything ON which was possible to do so. Hmm... maybe it's something with no crystal patch? I had this installed for nlnm.
where can I get this patch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teeth View Post
Thank you for all your hard work Troye I just have a few issues;
  1. The Nvidia transparency fix doesn't seem to work, so my game still looks like this.
  2. I can't run the game in resolutions higher than 1920x1080 - any plans to add 4K support down the line?
  3. FMVs won't run at all, I just get a black screen for a few seconds and then the game carries on
  4. What do the disable_colorkey reg functions do?
I'm sure you'll sort all this out and make the definitive TR3 experience soon enough

1 and 4
2, yes, later on
3, I'll check! thank you

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOHN30011887 View Post
Nice to see this game getting some love

For now i will stick to the dgvoodoo fix i use since i still got a line down the menu images and tiny font with tomb3 (which dgvoodoo fixes).

Also hope all the reg files are just temp since its early days and it will look like tomb 4 and tomb 5 someday, but nice to see things getting fixed
there aren't temporary. at least not in current plans, the UI in TR3 is less versatile than TR4/5 and fitting so many options there is almost impossible

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATombRaiderFan View Post
Both are related. Try the disable_colorkey_ON.reg option, it should fix your transparency issue (it did in my case).

Before | After

yes, the disable colorkey option should ONLY be turned on if you have this issue
__________________
I like cats
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-22, 12:18   #29
tomblover
Legend
 
tomblover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 26,004
Default

I'm also not getting FMV playback, and Lara's Home crashes for me within seconds of loading into the level (or rather, within seconds of moving around) as well. Everything else seems to work as intended.

I do have dgVoodoo files in the game directory, but I've disabled dgVoodoo itself by "passthru to real DirectX," so I'm not sure if that's still doing anything.

I was previously also using Arsunt's tomb3.exe (and his tr3gold.exe for TLA) which IIRC also contains a custom FMV solution, so maybe something's going on there.

Last edited by tomblover; 17-10-22 at 12:21.
tomblover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-22, 20:11   #30
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Invercargill
Posts: 1,437
Default

The FMVs issue has been fixed
As a temporary workaround until next release, you can move the game folder to the C drive.

@tomblover or dj, can you please check if moving the game folder to the C drive fixes the home crash as well? I'd appreciate it, thank you
__________________
I like cats
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.