www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > The Last Revelation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-18, 15:32   #1
annacroft
Explorer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Cabot Cove
Posts: 617
Default Fire Sprite Flickering on and around screen when playing?

Hey everyone,

So I'm currently playing TRLR and every time I play I get this occasional, annoying fire flicker on the screen. It can happen where loads of them flicker on screen at once and then disappear, or one just flickers on and disappears. Does anyone know how to fix this? I'm playing the steam version.
annacroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-18, 16:34   #2
LoreRaider
Archaeologist
 
LoreRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,610
Default

It's an engine bug sadly, this happens when too many flames are active in the level
This happens too on fanmade levels
__________________
"Everybody lies, no exceptions."
LoreRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-18, 18:49   #3
Maverin
Archaeologist
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,590
Default

Do you have a screenshot by any chance? At first I thought about screen tearing (vertical sync), but since you say it looks like a flame it has to be something else. Never encountered anything like that as far as I can recall.
__________________
Remember
Maverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-18, 19:03   #4
LoreRaider
Archaeologist
 
LoreRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,610
Default

Here it is, in this case the issue is caused by too many smoke emitters activated (the ones in Trenches level), with flames it's the same but with red/orange colour
Sometimes they appear like pop-up, sometimes like a moving line
https://streamable.com/6fx10
__________________
"Everybody lies, no exceptions."

Last edited by LoreRaider; 07-11-18 at 19:07.
LoreRaider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-18, 15:43   #5
Maverin
Archaeologist
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,590
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoreRaider View Post
Here it is, in this case the issue is caused by too many smoke emitters activated (the ones in Trenches level), with flames it's the same but with red/orange colour
Sometimes they appear like pop-up, sometimes like a moving line
https://streamable.com/6fx10
How odd. Never noticed that in any of my playthroughs
__________________
Remember
Maverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-18, 03:43   #6
Girafarig32
Professor
 
Girafarig32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Willard's Well Species: Unidentified
Posts: 3,239
Default

I've noticed that flame bug a lot myself. The flames will only appear for a fraction of a second. I haven't noticed it in chronicles, though. Agreed that it is a bug with flame emitters.
__________________
Don't waste your time, or time will waste you.
Girafarig32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-18, 10:07   #7
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 7,446
Default

I've had it happen in TR3 (at least I'm sure it happened) and in TRLE games also.
Its annoying as hell - first time it happened it made me jump
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-18, 08:54   #8
Maverin
Archaeologist
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,590
Default

Maybe it's a steam problem only? I always install it by disc. Shouldn't make much of a difference though..
__________________
Remember

Last edited by Maverin; 28-11-18 at 07:40.
Maverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-18, 13:39   #9
TR-Freak
Unverified User
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 5,140
Default

I can imagine that Core has faulty code here and too many flames cause a Buffer overflow or are simply not checked.
Sprites that do not exist (because they are removed for memory allocation for example) are accessed and since the data is not meant to be accessed the game reads literally garbage. Producing flames/sprites having random coordinates
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-21, 03:30   #10
Vitin_96
Hobbyist
 
Vitin_96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 19
Default

What I noticed was, as you increase the internal resolution of the game, the more frequent those fire particles appear. Not only that, it also causes some other glitches, such as slower final credits speed and glitch item pickups that display on the bottom right corner.
Vitin_96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.