www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > General Chat

Old 09-05-19, 06:26   #1
hey007
Hobbyist

Default music as a career

is anyone a musician for their career? could you tell me what it actually requires. i see at youtube you have very talented musicians and sometimes self taught that would do very well if they were in a band or a musical composer for tv or game or film. it seems to me talent and skill and playing multiple instruments isn't enough to make a career out of it but you might get alot of following and small earnings from it. you know when you was at school and you played an instrument and did grading sometimes up to grade 5 or 6 or onwards and also grading in music theory, it's like that is not enough either but just a base, i heard some people will study for aprox 4 years to get a degree that should guarantee a job in the future. it does seem like facebook and youtube is your best starting point to get people interested in your solo work or work you do in a band.
hey007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-19, 09:06   #2
Yeauxleaux
Relic Hunter

Not a musician but probably depends what you want to do in music. Studying and/or using social media as a platform will obviously help.

That said, I genuinely believe in most cases that very successful musicians are neither self-taught nor began learning at an older age (by "older" I mean like anything over 10 years old). If you look at most successful musicians who are household names, certainly before the time of social media but even now really, almost every single one of them comes from a musical family where like a parent got them doing music from a very young age. It starts early. It's generally not something that you get to 21 and think "hmmm... I think I'll try out for X-Factor!" and then magically become a musical legend.

Last edited by Yeauxleaux; 09-05-19 at 09:13.
Yeauxleaux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-19, 09:58   #3
the_legend