www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > DXTRE3D Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-21, 09:18   #11
Felix Kroft
Student
 
Felix Kroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 164
Default

Deactivated.
__________________
I make my own luck.

Last edited by Felix Kroft; 13-04-22 at 13:49.
Felix Kroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-21, 17:48   #12
Topixtor
Historian
 
Topixtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 438
Default

Good luck with your project, and if you need any feedback/betatest feel free to PM me Also keep in mind TR1 has no way to produce dynamic lighting, not even by shooting, so try to not overuse the darkness

(as side notes, TE using more textures than Dxtre3d sounds very strange, probably it's some setting that needs to be changed; there is also an option to automatically divide walls like it's done in dxtre3d, it's even more flexible with shapes etc. and also you don't have that ridicoulus limit of only 5 blocks high rooms, a thing that can become a big pain expecially in TR1 with an abysmal limit of how many portals can be there without problems. Either way, I completely understand your point: the process of having to re-learn almost everything in order to "keep up" with new standards, but even for having less problems for my own good, sometimes can shut off your energy completely, if compared to the "click and build" feeling you have with an editor you already know inside and out )
Topixtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-21, 20:26   #13
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,631
Default

Yeah, just let the man use what he wants. Someone should still use dxtre3d and enjoy it. It's called diversity
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-21, 20:51   #14
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 2,060
Smile

Hi Felix, great to see another Dxtre3D user.

I'm not the best suited to talk about lighting and Topixtor already explained it to you anyway, so there's that.
If you have 2 separate rooms and a lightbulb that doesn't cross into the adjacent one, you must place an exact copy of the light on the adjacent room, you can move them out of bounds ( don't remember the keys now ). This is what i always did, it's a pain but necessary pain.

Haven't build anything on TR1 yet, but if you want to use it on TombEditor there's some options you need to set in Tools->Level Settings.
On Game, setting the type as TR1.
Texture file, level file, sound catalog ( it's in TombEditor folder->catalogs ), etc.
On Misc you need to check all boxes except the last which says sample rate:



Don't know much more than that for TR1, you would need to ask Leoc1995 or Mahetus here on TRF.

I wish you luck with building and i'm hoping to see your released project sometime.
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-21, 19:59   #15
Felix Kroft
Student
 
Felix Kroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 164
Default

Deactivated.
__________________
I make my own luck.

Last edited by Felix Kroft; 13-04-22 at 13:50.
Felix Kroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-21, 20:13   #16
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,631
Default

What people probably forgot to tell you is that you should set texture padding to 1 or 2. After that TE won't eat so much texture pages.

And yes, I think if you're aiming at PSX conversion, TE won't help you here, because it uses subpixel texture coordinates, which PSX converter (or PSX level format itself) is probably not aware of.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-21, 20:31   #17
Topixtor
Historian
 
Topixtor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Kroft View Post

And by the way, i've tested TR2 "Light Bulb" glitch, but everything works fine So far... So i hope it will go smoothly later.
Well it doesn't ALWAYS crash (thank God!), it's just very risky in general expecially if Lara is supposed to cross that place various times (I also wanted to add that it isn't just Lara that causes the crash, some/every object/static mesh also can cause it when crossing bulbs)
Topixtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-21, 21:24   #18
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 2,060
Red face

Ah crap, yeah, i forgot to tell you to set texture padding to 1, sorry. That is important in TE for TR1,2,3.

But if you are set on using Dxtre then awesome and best of luck to you, if i can help in anyway i will be glad to.
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-21, 21:46   #19
Felix Kroft
Student
 
Felix Kroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 164
Default

Deactivated.
__________________
I make my own luck.

Last edited by Felix Kroft; 13-04-22 at 13:50.
Felix Kroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-21, 18:19   #20
Dan-d
Student
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Felix Kroft View Post
Good to know that i can always ask someone for help
How do you compile TR1 levels to PSX format? I thought it's only somewhat possible for TR4
Dan-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.