www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15-12-15, 17:56   #14461
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 6,841
Default

Probably a really basic problem, but I can't seem to find any Troubleshooting on this issue.

In WADmerger and StrPix my objects appear fine.. but ingame, some faces are a completely different texture, and its animating / flickering.
Yet other faces on the same object appear normal.

Any idea why this is happening?
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-15, 15:20   #14462
MBog
Archaeologist
 
MBog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 1,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shakira Croft View Post
^ with TRNG yes, there is a 'demo' feature
which one? I have DemoDisc enabled, but nothing...
__________________
EVERYTHING IS AWESOME, EVERYTHING IS COOL WHEN YOU WORK IN A TEAM!

Last edited by MBog; 16-12-15 at 15:28.
MBog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-15, 16:58   #14463
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,751
Default

Demo and DemoDisc are not the same.

You can find more about cutscenes here:

http://www.trlevelmanager.net/demos.htm

Scroll down to "Lightnings and Cutscenes".

Note:
You are the one who needs to adjust/record this kind of cutscenes.
AkyV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-15, 17:54   #14464
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcw123 View Post
Probably a really basic problem, but I can't seem to find any Troubleshooting on this issue.

In WADmerger and StrPix my objects appear fine.. but ingame, some faces are a completely different texture, and its animating / flickering.
Yet other faces on the same object appear normal.

Any idea why this is happening?
Sounds like the scrolling texture bug.
In most cases it appears when waterfall textures are not the tallest in the wad, so they are not the first textures on the first texture page.
A random texture (or parts of textures) starts scrolling in random places, on random faces.
To avoid this, make the waterfall textures the tallest textures in the wad (my waterfall textures are always 256 pixels tall (or high? ) and/or add the PLANET_EFFECT to your wad. It is then the planet-effect which takes on the scrolling effect. No idea how this works, but it does work.
Making the waterfall textures the tallest ones in the wad however is the most foolproof way.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-15, 14:06   #14465
MBog
Archaeologist
 
MBog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Romania
Posts: 1,896
Default

Does anyone still have the tr2 ios hd textures?
__________________
EVERYTHING IS AWESOME, EVERYTHING IS COOL WHEN YOU WORK IN A TEAM!
MBog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-15, 12:14   #14466
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 4,101
Default

I have an odd problem with element pickup_item1 and _item2. Lara will refuse to perform dirt animation and petrol animation with "no". Waterskin works normally, I can pour the water out wherever I want. This happens no matter if I use original mastaba objects or my own, I also tried with venetian wad from BtB10. Classic editor, no special stuff. All the misc items: dirt_mesh, petrol_mesh, water_mesh, torch_anim and element_puzzle exist in the wad. What could go wrong?

EDIT: Solved! Rotation flag $8002. Also that "8" will crash the game if Layer1= command is missing (no idea if this problem was known, or how these two are related).

Quote:
Originally Posted by MBog View Post
Does anyone still have the tr2 ios hd textures?
What is "ios"? Not a level name I guess...
__________________
Press F to type F.

Last edited by DJ Full; 19-12-15 at 15:30.
DJ Full is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-15, 15:42   #14467
Xopax
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ancient Sky Arena
Posts: 1,923
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Full View Post
I have an odd problem with element pickup_item1 and _item2. Lara will refuse to perform dirt animation and petrol animation with "no". Waterskin works normally, I can pour the water out wherever I want. This happens no matter if I use original mastaba objects or my own, I also tried with venetian wad from BtB10. Classic editor, no special stuff. All the misc items: dirt_mesh, petrol_mesh, water_mesh, torch_anim and element_puzzle exist in the wad. What could go wrong?

EDIT: Solved! Rotation flag $8002. Also that "8" will crash the game if Layer1= command is missing (no idea if this problem was known, or how these two are related).

What is "ios"? Not a level name I guess...
iOS is Iphone's OS
Xopax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-15, 16:46   #14468
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 4,101
Default

Aha. Sorry, I'm not much into that new portable technology. I found uncomfortable anything with touch screen...

Is there any way except the wall trick to get the interaction zone with a puzzle hole off the X axis, so it's on the square edge? Thanks

__________________
Press F to type F.

Last edited by DJ Full; 19-12-15 at 16:49.
DJ Full is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-15, 17:09   #14469
aidanmalone
Professor
 
aidanmalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: England
Posts: 4,185
Default

You can move items with the ACTION trigger
AFAIK even puzzles and switches which are halfway between squares work fine with the triggers I think with this.
aidanmalone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-15, 17:25   #14470
DJ Full
Professor
 
DJ Full's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Poland (CET)
Posts: 4,101
Default

Unfortunately I wanted this for an object planned to be useful in all kinds of levels so new triggers don't apply. I would normally recommend the wall trick which always works, but the object is supposed to be used in open space, and it would always force some wall or a portal of restricted shape, which would result in many settings similar to each other (and I know there will be more than one level utilizing this object).

So I wondered if there is anything else which could keep the object universal. I know for sure the interaction zone is "bound" to the blue axis (shown in meta/StrPix/wadmerger) and there is a little natural tolerance of Lara's placement in relation to it, so the key to this setup would be in ignoring that axis or increasing the tolerance.
__________________
Press F to type F.

Last edited by DJ Full; 19-12-15 at 17:27.
DJ Full is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.