Tomb Raider Forums  

Go Back   Tomb Raider Forums > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider The Angel of Darkness

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 22-09-19, 15:47   #11
sasho648
Member
 
sasho648's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreakRaider View Post
If I/we could somehow publicly get ahold of this new exporter, I'd be very greatful
Did you read the post - it's not ready. There are some serious issues while transpiling indices from the directx ready format included in the game to the not so conventional 3mf included with the uwp api.

I'm opening IDA Pro right now to see if I can scavenge why it's failing.

I had previous success with it while developing a UWP VPN solution but it was native - right now it's managed JavaScript so I'm not entirely sure if IDA will pick up.

It actually worked - the breakpoint on saveModelToPackageAsync hit - now it's time to debug.

Last edited by sasho648; 22-09-19 at 16:11.
sasho648 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-19, 15:52   #12
nakamichi680
Member
 
nakamichi680's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sasho648 View Post
Did you read the post - it's not ready. There are some serious issues while transpiling indices from the directx ready format included in the game to the not so conventional 3mf included with the uwp api.

I'm opening IDA Pro right now to see if I can scavenge why it's failing.
Why don't you read all indices from the zone file and then manipulate them in order to make them compatible with the 3mf format? What's the problem with that triangle strip?
nakamichi680 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-19, 16:12   #13
sasho648
Member
 
sasho648's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nakamichi680 View Post
Why don't you read all indices from the zone file and then manipulate them in order to make them compatible with the 3mf format? What's the problem with that triangle strip?
Why don't I do what I'm trying to do. The problem is the formats aren't the same. The one in the zone file and the one in the data buffer I'm using to create the 3mf file.

First problem was that there were occasionally duplication of vertex indices which are ok in the zone file but not ok in the 3mf buffer.

Now I've fixed that but it still ain't working for some reason - it fails with unspecified error at saveModelToPackageAsync

If don't have anything better to do add me on skype so I can share my screen and you can see what I'm talking about - sasho648

Actually never mind there is not much to show it's giving me the error right in the debugging log - e06d7363 - it's accessing data after the buffer size it seems

Actually never mind again that seems to be the same exception that is being thrown around sometimes.

Last edited by sasho648; 22-09-19 at 16:29.
sasho648 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-19, 16:28   #14
nakamichi680
Member
 
nakamichi680's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sasho648 View Post
Why don't I do what I'm trying to do. The problem is the formats aren't the same. The one in the zone file and the one in the data buffer I'm using to create the 3mf file.

First problem was that there were occasionally duplication of vertex indices which are ok in the zone file but not ok in the 3mf buffer.

Now I've fixed that but it still ain't working for some reason - it fails with unspecified error at saveModelToPackageAsync
Passing to triangle strip to explicit faces is straightforward.
Let's say we have the following strip: 2/2/5/7/1/3/3/8/4/4/4
Do the following steps:
1) Read 3 values (signed shorts in aod) from the beginning
2) check the three values. If they are all different then go ahead, if not return to step 1 and read 3 values at position beginning+1 (add 1 at every new cycle)
3) if the position in the strip of the first value is even skip this step, otherwise, if it's odd, exchange values 1 and 3
4) you now have your explicit face to import in the 3mf file. Now return to step 1 and repeat till the end of the strip.
Previous strip becomes in explicit faces like this:
0) 2/2/5 discarded
1) 2/5/7 -> 7/5/2 OK
2) 5/7/1 OK
3) 7/1/3 -> 3/1/7 OK
4) 1/3/3 discarded
5) 3/3/8 discarded
6) 3/8/4 OK
7) 8/4/4 discarded
8) 4/4/4 discarded
nakamichi680 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-19, 20:50   #15
CheshireBitch
Member
 
CheshireBitch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,446
Default

It's a nice idea to add new levels !
CheshireBitch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-19, 21:32   #16
sasho648
Member
 
sasho648's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nakamichi680 View Post
Passing to triangle strip to explicit faces is straightforward.
Let's say we have the following strip: 2/2/5/7/1/3/3/8/4/4/4
Do the following steps:
1) Read 3 values (signed shorts in aod) from the beginning
2) check the three values. If they are all different then go ahead, if not return to step 1 and read 3 values at position beginning+1 (add 1 at every new cycle)
3) if the position in the strip of the first value is even skip this step, otherwise, if it's odd, exchange values 1 and 3
4) you now have your explicit face to import in the 3mf file. Now return to step 1 and repeat till the end of the strip.
Previous strip becomes in explicit faces like this:
0) 2/2/5 discarded
1) 2/5/7 -> 7/5/2 OK
2) 5/7/1 OK
3) 7/1/3 -> 3/1/7 OK
4) 1/3/3 discarded
5) 3/3/8 discarded
6) 3/8/4 OK
7) 8/4/4 discarded
8) 4/4/4 discarded
I tried it - but it's drawing only a single room no matter what I do.

Last edited by sasho648; 23-09-19 at 18:15.
sasho648 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-19, 03:40   #17
TRExpertgamer
Inactive
 
Joined: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,453
Default

What are you doing with all this?
TRExpertgamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-19, 03:58   #18
Boobandie
Member
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRExpertgamer View Post
What are you doing with all this?
It's pretty well explained. Rebuild AOD 1:1 in unity using all the assets we can now extract from the game thanks to fan made programs, then refine and finish the game.

Good luck with the project! There's a lot of pessimism for big builds like this that get announced before there is much to show, due to the vast majority being cancelled five pages later. Try not to let it get to you, and keep working until it's done.
Boobandie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-19, 06:34   #19
nakamichi680
Member
 
nakamichi680's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 874
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sasho648 View Post
I tried it - but it's drawing only a single room no matter what I do.
Does the 3mf format support multiple objects? If not then you have to export all rooms in different files.
I don't get why you're facing all these issues. You've already made a level viewer so I guess you know the structure of zone files, don't you?
nakamichi680 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-19, 11:03   #20
red_lion
Member
 
red_lion's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 610
Smile

Keep up the good work
red_lion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 16:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Tomb Raider Forums is not owned or operated by CDE Entertainment Ltd.
Lara Croft and Tomb Raider are trademarks of CDE Entertainment Ltd.