www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-03-18, 00:46   #61
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,379
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feder View Post
Well maybe you could try something to get rid of the shadows: copy the center of the tile that is lightened and paste it above the shadows, due to the fact that the image is a single tile that repeats irself, it may work.
Thanks, i will try doing that, but when i finish the level, i want to concentrate on doing the detailing now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewolf View Post
What causes this shadow? Is it a light bulb?
No haha it's not from the level. It's the texture i used for the background, it has shadows on the corners.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameGlitcher77 View Post
It's fine Danath, don't worry about it. Nice job on your progress, I've been keeping an eye on this thread.
Thank you. I will try to fix it, if i can't i could ask someone to do it, it's not important right now as i have a lot of levels ahead of me.

I still have to do the final area, but i have begun to do the texturing and lighting, now that i have the gameplay done and i'm satisfied with it. So you should see some more screenshots soon, i will do specific areas first.

Another thing, i was thinking about having the level tested when it's done, i like the gameplay but i would like to hear other's opinions on it, as well as game balance. I also think it would be better than having to test a lot of levels together, the same saved game could be used when another is ready. Is it a good idea?
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-18, 00:52   #62
GameGlitcher77
Professor
 
GameGlitcher77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: I live on the East Coast of the U.S. Satisfied???
Posts: 2,996
Cool ....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danath View Post
Thanks, i will try doing that, but when i finish the level, i want to concentrate on doing the detailing now.


No haha it's not from the level. It's the texture i used for the background, it has shadows on the corners.


Thank you. I will try to fix it, if i can't i could ask someone to do it, it's not important right now as i have a lot of levels ahead of me.

I still have to do the final area, but i have begun to do the texturing and lighting, now that i have the gameplay done and i'm satisfied with it. So you should see some more screenshots soon, i will do specific areas first.

Another thing, i was thinking about having the level tested when it's done, i like the gameplay but i would like to hear other's opinions on it, as well as game balance. I also think it would be better than having to test a lot of levels together, the same saved game could be used when another is ready. Is it a good idea?
Yeah I don't see why not...
__________________
"I have been falling for 30 minutes!" -Loki
GameGlitcher77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-18, 04:18   #63
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 467
Default

Thought you also had a problem with the hole where the bell is?
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-18, 16:19   #64
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,379
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameGlitcher77 View Post
Yeah I don't see why not...


Quote:
Originally Posted by thewolf View Post
Thought you also had a problem with the hole where the bell is?
Ah yes, sorry, i thought you were talking about the background.
Yes, i placed a light with intensity -3, that creates a shadow based on the room ambient value. So if my exteriors have 20 as ambient, then the shadows are 23.
I can't see any cracks in the editor view, but ingame there are cracks. :\



Note i recolored the bell to try and give it a bronze look.

I also wanted to place a shadow under the balconies, but the shadow is either too big ( even with radius 1 ) or it also creates cracks.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-18, 18:38   #65
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 467
Lightbulb

Yes , the editor doesn't show you always the light as it is . The real effect can only be seen ingame. Some of the cracks are impossible to get rid off . Even if the editor won't show you any light effects, there may be ingame some. What you could try , is to make the radius of the bulb bigger and move it about 3-4 tiles behind this room.


Try it like this:


thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-18, 18:58   #66
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,379
Talking

This is one of these cases where it's impossible, i'm afraid.
The room is only 1 sector wide, so i cannot do as you say. I tried placing the bulb "inside" the back wall and below as i have it but it's even worse then, the entire block gets shadowed. I'll just have to carry on and forget.

Thanks for trying to help!
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-18, 19:52   #67
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 467
Lightbulb

This is the closest, I could make without cracks For a 1 block room

thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-18, 17:15   #68
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,379
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by thewolf View Post
This is the closest, I could make without cracks For a 1 block room
Oh, how did you move it that far?? I have tried doing that in other levels but i couldn't. There is no sector to click there.
__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-18, 18:34   #69
thewolf
Historian
 
thewolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 467
Default

You can move the bulb in all directions , if you hold the ctrl and choose left , right, up or down on your arrow keys. The bulb can be moved out of your room
thewolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-18, 18:45   #70
Danath
Archaeologist
 
Danath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 1,379
Talking

Wow, why i didn't think of that? Thanks a lot man, gonna try moving it later and see if the cracks go away.

Thanks to Gameglitcher now i have a usable street lamp from the Madhouse level! It didn't work because it had translucent textures and TR2 cannot handle that.

__________________
Working on Tomb Raider II: The Ancient Jade Mask

Last edited by Danath; 20-03-18 at 21:40. Reason: lamps yay :D
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.