www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Chronicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-11-21, 18:52   #81
SLAYER
Archaeologist
 
SLAYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jordan
Posts: 2,249
Default

I haven't played tr5 in a long time, and I didn't realise how much of a nightmare this game has become compatibility wise. I'm unable to run the game at resolutions higher than 640x480 without problems. The main issue seems to be FMV related. I hope these get fixed with newer releases.

@ANoDE not sure how you got the game to run at 1440. I keep getting "failed to setup DirectX" whenever I use resolutions higher than 1080. Edit: even at 1080, I only get the upper left corner of the screen.
__________________
Right now, I'm losing patience

Last edited by SLAYER; 19-11-21 at 18:56.
SLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-21, 18:54   #82
Jathom95
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 1,202
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLAYER View Post
I haven't played tr5 in a long time, and I didn't realise how much of a nightmare this game has become compatibility wise. I'm unable to run the game at resolutions higher than 640x480 without problems. The main issue seems to be FMV related. I hope these get fixed with newer releases.

@ANoDE not sure how you got the game to run at 1440. I keep getting "failed to setup DirectX" whenever I use resolutions higher than 1080.
Have you tried dgVoodoo2? It fixes a lot of screen compatibility problems with the classics.
__________________
"Rodents, I wouldn't wonder. *Big* rodents."
Jathom95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-21, 19:12   #83
SLAYER
Archaeologist
 
SLAYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jordan
Posts: 2,249
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jathom95 View Post
Have you tried dgVoodoo2? It fixes a lot of screen compatibility problems with the classics.
I'll take a look at it
__________________
Right now, I'm losing patience
SLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-21, 19:17   #84
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Invercargill
Posts: 1,374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
I guess I'll add to the pile of requests.

1: Any plans to restore Lara's "hop" sound she makes when jumping. It works in the ps1 version, but not the pc or dreamcast versions.

2: Any way to make it so that music playback doesn't cause the game to pause for a split second when it has to load a different audio stream? It could just be an issue with my computer, but I've seen videos of the older games like 2 and 3 having the same issue on retro hardware with Win95/98.

3: This one's probably a nope or not anytime soon but I'll ask anyway for anybody else wondering: Reverb?
I remember looking into the hop sound a long time ago, I *think* the sounds aren't present in the level file. although, if it works in PSX, then I must be misremembering, or just wrong

I can't reproduce 2 at all

Reverb is planned

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANoDE View Post
Ah, ok - I've been playing at 1440p - the difference between 1x1 and 2x2 is quite small to be honest
Unfortunately, I don't know any colorblind players - I was just mentioning it, because I recently adapted several GUIs of mine at work because they weren't colorblind-friendly.
I'm sure a change in size (or a slightly different sprite) will work
will definitely do that! thank you :]

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLAYER View Post
I haven't played tr5 in a long time, and I didn't realise how much of a nightmare this game has become compatibility wise. I'm unable to run the game at resolutions higher than 640x480 without problems. The main issue seems to be FMV related. I hope these get fixed with newer releases.

@ANoDE not sure how you got the game to run at 1440. I keep getting "failed to setup DirectX" whenever I use resolutions higher than 1080. Edit: even at 1080, I only get the upper left corner of the screen.
FMVs cause trouble for me as well, I just disable them at the moment they will be fixed, hopefully soon :] I hope dgvoodoo2 works out. When the fixes come, it won't be needed :]
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-21, 21:06   #85
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 12,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SLAYER View Post
I haven't played tr5 in a long time, and I didn't realise how much of a nightmare this game has become compatibility wise. I'm unable to run the game at resolutions higher than 640x480 without problems. The main issue seems to be FMV related. I hope these get fixed with newer releases.

@ANoDE not sure how you got the game to run at 1440. I keep getting "failed to setup DirectX" whenever I use resolutions higher than 1080. Edit: even at 1080, I only get the upper left corner of the screen.
If you have part of game stretched across the entire screen go to .exe compatibility settings and set DPI mode to be performed by application.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-21, 21:17   #86
SLAYER
Archaeologist
 
SLAYER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Jordan
Posts: 2,249
Default

^ Yep that fixed it.
__________________
Right now, I'm losing patience
SLAYER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-21, 10:49   #87
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,718
Default

Hi! I want to say that if you are about to make TR5 custom level using tomb5 and wonder why directional lights still don't work correctly - you need to update Tomb Editor. Please use latest version (which is 1.4.6 as of now).
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-21, 14:33   #88
ATombRaiderFan
Explorer
 
ATombRaiderFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 529
Lightbulb

Here's another idea for the toggleable options list, the health/breath/speed bars are positioned a bit too low and should be moved close to the top of the screen, this position would work better visually.

ATombRaiderFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-21, 18:51   #89
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Invercargill
Posts: 1,374
Default

big update coming up


I know some of these might look confusing, but no worries, all will be explained by the time of release
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-21, 20:06   #90
Kidd Bowyer
Student
 
Kidd Bowyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 244
Default

Holy wow, this is going fast! Just try not to overwork yourself too much, we're willing to wait for the awesomeness.
Kidd Bowyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.