www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider II

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-19, 21:03   #1
gioA
Student
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 121
Default help with tr2 gold on windows 10

hi.
just purchased the retail version of golden mask.
how do I get it to work properly on windows 10, with health and ammo showing on screen?
sorry if this is elsewhere but I can't find it on the forum.
cheers!
gioA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-19, 00:37   #2
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 20,630
Default

Hello

I had this issue before and another member was able to fix this by patching the executable.

You can download this patch here.

https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...8&postcount=69

It's the first download link where you have the patched exe.
__________________
Always Pondering
charmedangelin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-19, 11:38   #3
gioA
Student
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 121
Default

Thanks.
I'll try this.
gioA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 05:01   #4
HarleyCroft
Professor
 
HarleyCroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Coulrophilia
Posts: 3,459
Default

Hey everyone

I need help installing the Golden Mask in Windows 10. I've tried downloading all the versions linked on Stella's site and TRC and I'm just not able to get it to work I have a PC copy of TR2 if it's still necessary.

Don't have a Steam account (and I don't really want one, I much prefer physical copies but am trying this before ordering an actual copy of TR2Gold) and don't know what GOG is or if it would be a simplest way of installing it.

I've never played Lara's Alaskan/Vegas adventure before and I really want to!
__________________
Well if that ain't aren't the isn't
HarleyCroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 08:36   #5
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,653
Default

GOG is basically the games as they came on disk, except all files are kept in your local drive and the exe has had the disk check removed.
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 13:26   #6
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleyCroft View Post
I need help installing the Golden Mask in Windows 10. I've tried downloading all the versions linked on Stella's site and TRC and I'm just not able to get it to work I have a PC copy of TR2 if it's still necessary.

Don't have a Steam account (and I don't really want one, I much prefer physical copies but am trying this before ordering an actual copy of TR2Gold) and don't know what GOG is or if it would be a simplest way of installing it.
If your copy of TR2 is a physical disc, running the trgold.exe from a Golden Mask install folder (Stella's or TRC) should work if the original TR2 disc is in the drive. Not always convenient, but manageable.

Other methods involve using the original game's patched tomb2.exe (Multipatch/Steam/GoG) to play GM, however this isn't advised as this EXE does not contain the same scripting/code as the Gold EXE so you'll run into various problems.

The best ways to play the expansion today are either by using a patched Golden Mask EXE that has the CD check removed (No-CD) in which the original TR2 disc doesn't need to be detected. To save you the hassle of going through the patching process/downloading things from different sources or even purchasing GM (unless you're a collector there's no point - the files are freely and legally available) if you'd like I can PM you a link to a safe and legit working TR2Gold folder which contains a patched GM executable. All you'd need to do is unzip and it'll be ready to play (courtesy of the speedrunning community).

Or, you can use Arsunt's TR2Main. This method allows for a working TR2+GM under a single folder/installation with many optional features. All that's required is a copy of TR2. Setup guide here.
__________________
IronFistLaw75
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 16:45   #7
HarleyCroft
Professor
 
HarleyCroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Coulrophilia
Posts: 3,459
Default

Thanks for all the info
I'll try a couple of those solutions and if I hit a dead-end I'll PM you. Thanks again
__________________
Well if that ain't aren't the isn't
HarleyCroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 19:23   #8
HarleyCroft
Professor
 
HarleyCroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Coulrophilia
Posts: 3,459
Default

I got it working, thank you!

Just a couple questions.. is Lara's home not supposed to be in the menu? And what aspect ratio is best? It's finicky on my laptop but I have a few options to mess around on my TV remote. Is 4:3 the best?

__________________
Well if that ain't aren't the isn't
HarleyCroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 21:36   #9
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleyCroft View Post
I got it working, thank you!
Which method did you use? My guess is the 1st option where you require the original disc to run the trgold.exe...

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleyCroft View Post
Just a couple questions.. is Lara's home not supposed to be in the menu? And what aspect ratio is best? It's finicky on my laptop but I have a few options to mess around on my TV remote. Is 4:3 the best?
Nope, Lara's Home is not meant to be present in The Golden Mask menu. It can be patched in, however you'll have to ditch the CD method (if that's what you're using). This is why I always recommend that people use TR2Main. Doing so will provide a bunch of extra features - two of which are Lara's Home being accessible and widescreen visuals without stretching or cropping.
__________________
IronFistLaw75
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-22, 23:36   #10
HarleyCroft
Professor
 
HarleyCroft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Coulrophilia
Posts: 3,459
Default

I made sure the disk was in at all times
And it took a bit more trial and error to find a download that worked on my laptop.. then some more random clicking on files once unzipped because it wasn't labeled .exe (or I missed it)

Either way, it's working quite well
__________________
Well if that ain't aren't the isn't
HarleyCroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.