Tomb Raider Forums  

Go Back   Tomb Raider Forums > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider The Last Revelation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16-03-23, 14:31   #291
iEnderman55
Member
 
iEnderman55's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2023
Posts: 13
Unhappy TR4 won't open

When I try to open TR4 it doesn't appear the window, nothing happens. In taskmgr I can see the process for a little of seconds.
Same problem with TR5
iEnderman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-23, 16:49   #292
ANoDE
Golden
 
ANoDE's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7,124
Default

Did you install dgvoodoo2?
If not, you can do so following the instructions in this post:
https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...61&postcount=2

It's for TR3 but the instructions should work similarly (you just need to use tomb4 instead of tomb3).

I think the game always crashes if you choose a resolution that is too high. Try something lower - like 1920x1080 via the setup.
(You can launch it by starting tomb4.exe using the -setup switch; your installation may even already have a "Setup" link in the game directory, otherwise you can create a shortcut by right-clicking the tomb4.exe and choosing "Add shortcut". Then use right-click -> Properties on the shortcut and add "-setup" (without the quotes) in the "target" box.
ANoDE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-23, 13:08   #293
iEnderman55
Member
 
iEnderman55's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2023
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANoDE View Post
Did you install dgvoodoo2?
If not, you can do so following the instructions in this post:
https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...61&postcount=2

It's for TR3 but the instructions should work similarly (you just need to use tomb4 instead of tomb3).

I think the game always crashes if you choose a resolution that is too high. Try something lower - like 1920x1080 via the setup.
(You can launch it by starting tomb4.exe using the -setup switch; your installation may even already have a "Setup" link in the game directory, otherwise you can create a shortcut by right-clicking the tomb4.exe and choosing "Add shortcut". Then use right-click -> Properties on the shortcut and add "-setup" (without the quotes) in the "target" box.
Thanks for your help, but nothing happens also with dgvodoo, the setup won't open.
iEnderman55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-23, 22:02   #294
Kirishima
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 758
Default

Alright, feedback for the current new patch.

1: I was playing one of the pyramid levels (the ones with the green fog) and noticed the text on the gameover/reload screens were affected by the green fog.

2: This ones entirely nit picky, but while the knees are now fixed I feel like the elbows have broken in a way that's then how it was in the vanilla game. Can't really put my finger on it until I compare them to older patches.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-23, 22:47   #295
JAMJOOM
Member
 
JAMJOOM's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2020
Posts: 524
Default 2345

Really strange, after the replacement(TOMB4+TOMB5), the game no longer supports the joystick, what is the problem exactly?
Even though everything looks great, but , this problem always happens to me
JAMJOOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-03-23, 03:43   #296
Kirishima
Member
 
Joined: Oct 2011
Posts: 758
Default

Finally beat this game properly after how many years of having it...

Anyway, it seems there might be a graphical issue with Set's "Charge Projectile" animation, the one he uses before launching a projectile at you. If he's offscreen while doing it, those blue energy particles end up occasionally displaying horizontal blue lines across the screen. I haven't checked vanilla yet, and it might be a dgvoodoo2 thing.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-23, 18:03   #297
Sardoc
Member
 
Sardoc's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,294
Default

Is there any chance for a version for The Times level? Currently the exe does indeed run, but there is a lot of junk in the main menu and the strings are all wrong. The dialogue cutscene loads and plays fine, but the game crashes shortly after it.
Sardoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-23, 10:34   #298
legluondunet
Member
 
legluondunet's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 66
Default

Hello,I don't know if this issue was already reported but french accented characters are not correctly shown on latest tomb4 version:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture d’écran_2023-04-22_12-27-31.png
Views:	93
Size:	825.3 KB
ID:	22  

Last edited by legluondunet; 22-04-23 at 14:19. Reason: Image removed. See FAQ on posting images.
legluondunet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-23, 03:49   #299
CheshireBitch
Member
 
CheshireBitch's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 2,450
Default

I just started a new game with the latest version of the exe and I just wanted to say big thank you ! All the psx options really made it feels like when I was a kid it’s truly a gift ! It really was a long time since the last time it felt this way ! Thank you so much and congratulations on your hard work !
CheshireBitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-23, 20:34   #300
Mokono
Member
 
Mokono's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 8,927
Question

As someone who has never used dgVoodoo2 before (if memory serves me correctly), and considering i've been able to play the classics with both the fixes from the Multi Patch and the community open source modified engines without problems, may i know whether i should bother with it? After all, reading several posts here gives me the impression that it breaks things more than it fixes them.
Mokono is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Tomb Raider Forums is not owned or operated by CDE Entertainment Ltd.
Lara Croft and Tomb Raider are trademarks of CDE Entertainment Ltd.