www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Chronicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-21, 16:32   #11
Dan-d
Student
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitin_96 View Post
I feel kinda bad because i really like this game lol
It's just this pc port that was a lazy job...
Wasn't bad pc ports a given ever since TR3?
PSX always had a little extra detail and love (footstep marks and reveb and generally much better lighting and transparency effects) while pc basically got zero upgrades visually (except buggy volumetric fog and cheap bump effect) utilizing low res textures and models
Dan-d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-21, 19:30   #12
Kirishima
Explorer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 635
Default

Doesn't mean they didn't screw up the ps1 versions in some way. All the ps1 copies of TR3 I've encountered always had desynced audio in the cutscenes, which could be a region thing. In TR1, a bunch of sound effects that looped in the PC version didn't in the PS1, but then again it's the opposite for the underwater sfx loop.

On a side not, this is just my opinion (meaning no real facts support this), but I think one of the reasons the pc versions got as little as they did was simply for compatibility reasons. There were lots of graphics cards back then, and regardless of being directx(insert number here) compliant they might not all support the same features. Here's a couple Tomb Raider 2 videos with 3 different cards:

S3 Savage 3d (TR2 with Mipmapping)


(Possibly NSFW) - 3dfx Voodoo 2 (Standard Directx Fare)+ Matrox Mystique


There are other videos with different cards that display similar but less busted results as the MM above, but I think alot of that was simply because the cards were underpowered in some way or another. The results don't vary as much as TR1 for obvious reasons, but I still find it amusing that one card gave the game something that none of todays cards seem to want to... even with wrappers like dgvoodoo.

Last edited by Kirishima; 08-10-21 at 00:23.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-21, 10:11   #13
Dan-d
Student
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 205
Default

Not sure what is has to do with graphics cards.
In 1999 we had Half Life, Unreal, Outcast, System Shock on pc. Surely slapping a few extra polys on Lara and doubling the resolution of textures wouldn't be such a big deal. They didn't even care to fix textures to be seamless when bilinear filtering is on. IMO pc ports of tomb raider were lazy side product of ps1 releases.
Dan-d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-21, 21:14   #14
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,263
Default

Sky graphics fixed







I hope this restores people's faith in the PC version. it is capable
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-21, 21:44   #15
LateRaider
Professor
 
LateRaider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Ship Pierrson
Posts: 3,320
Default

all hail troye, as they are as unto a savior deity to the lowly tomb raider: chronicles.

love you bestie ♥
__________________
"Come, let's get off this roof, and... I will buy you a milkshake."
LateRaider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-21, 21:57   #16
Jathom95
Explorer
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: United States
Posts: 930
Default

Damn, that was fast lol.
__________________
"Rodents, I wouldn't wonder. *Big* rodents."
Jathom95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-21, 22:59   #17
Vitin_96
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
Sky graphics fixed







I hope this restores people's faith in the PC version. it is capable
Damn, you've done magic. But have you already been working on this for some time?
Have you used different texture for the skyboxes?
Vitin_96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-21, 02:22   #18
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vitin_96 View Post
Damn, you've done magic. But have you already been working on this for some time?
Have you used different texture for the skyboxes?
you can say I have a lot of experience with TR5

The textures are in the level files already, all was done through code.

For PC, Core used an external sky graphics picture for PC levels that was copied into the level at compile time, but for PSX they used a sprite instead.
Looks like someone updated the sprites, but forgot the PC sky
What I did is make the game use the sprite instead. (You can see it's a little lower in quality, but it looks nicer imo)
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-21, 06:10   #19
ATombRaiderFan
Historian
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 365
Default

The game looks so much better without the mismatched skyboxes. Nature is healing.

Nice work Woops
ATombRaiderFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-21, 00:35   #20
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,433
Default

Can you advise how you did this woops?
As pixstr22 and trviewer and fexmerger are all Tr5 Incompatible and cause flipmaps to corrupt- leaving many levels incompletable.
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 21:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.