www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 13-12-17, 07:29   #531
MontyTRC
Historian
 
MontyTRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default

Next week I hope
I'm trying to fix NG animated textures. And I've also improved NG triggers.
I will also fix some bugs reported by you.
__________________
Tomb Editor Main developer
MontyTRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-17, 11:00   #532
JEYEM
Hobbyist
 
JEYEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyTRC View Post
@JEYEM I'm trying to fix it since last week. Geometry building function is very long and complex and rich of side effects but I will solve it at the end.
Oh, thanks. I hope so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeelooBastet View Post
Indeed, it gets messed up with more than 1-clik slope
You are right. That meant lowering 1 click, but in any case "1 click" was an unnecessary word.
__________________
My posts are based on Google Translate.
JEYEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 09:51   #533
frankky
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Default Problems with the wad

hello

when I load my wad I get this Import TR4 Wad screen

QUESTION: I understand that there are no Sounds that I do not have

QUESTION: how do you solve this problem?

Hi Franky
frankky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 12:03   #534
MontyTRC
Historian
 
MontyTRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default

Hi
in the bottom of the window, you can see a list of paths. Add a new path. After doing this, the importer function will try immediately to reload all samples.
In the near future I will also add the possibility to browse single samples.
__________________
Tomb Editor Main developer
MontyTRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 13:56   #535
TR-Freak
Professor
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 4,880
Default

Hey there, is there a possibility to allow TR1-3 and 5 compatibility, like DxTRE3d?

The disadvantage of Dxtre3D is, that the room geometry is always a multiple of a square, so you cannot have 1-click rooms for example (you can raise/lower the floor to make the room look like 1 click, but portals to other rooms would have a 3-click difference to the rest of the room) DxTRE3D also does notallow changing the wall segments and thus the texturing is always perfectly square, which makes it even worse.
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 14:00   #536
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,643
Default

Apparently the main objective now is to hit full TRNG support. After that I believe it will be TR5 support and OpenTOMB/OpenLARA. TR1-3 will probably come next, but at the moment it is not decided if Tomb Editor will really support these games.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 14:12   #537
frankky
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyTRC View Post
Hi
in the bottom of the window, you can see a list of paths. Add a new path. After doing this, the importer function will try immediately to reload all samples.
In the near future I will also add the possibility to browse single samples.
Hi Monty
for the problem of missing Sounds, I did as you told me I created a folder, but it always tells me that they are missing.

QUESTION: those missing wavs do you have them? I'm:
TR3 Sound 92.wav
TR3 Sound 93.wav
TR3 Sound 94.wav
TR3 Sound 95.wav
TR3 Sound 140.wav
TR3 Sound 146.wav
TR3 Sound 168.wav
TR3 Sound 177-0.wav

Ciao Franky
frankky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 17:07   #538
uweprofft
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Dessau-Ro▀lau, Deutschland
Posts: 0
Default

I still despair ... .. ?????

I build a Costum TestLevel (2 rooms) with the TE and play the game with TOMBEDITOR / GAME / Tomb4.exe! Great!!! Only these integers and letters disturb ☹

Now I change the TE / Tools the game path on my personal PATH (..c: / TRLE ...) and wants to look at the same test level without numbers and letters, because crashes TOMB4.EXE from ☹ ☹ ☹

I even picked out the old TRLE CD, but it crashes too ??? I do not know how to continue!!! Everything went well with TombEditor1.0.3!

Can you help me?

Last edited by uweprofft; 14-12-17 at 17:10.
uweprofft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 17:36   #539
TR-Freak
Professor
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 4,880
Default

Here are some features I think would improve:

  • Have an option to tessellate The Room Geo (Tessellating, not Smoothing) to allow "sharper" and more accurate static shadows
  • Allow static Meshes to participate into the Light computation for Static Lights (Not sure how exactly this is possible, but would be really really nice feature together with tessellated geo and resulting shadows)
  • Insert a pcwadsfx call (with assigned level token(s) in the Level Settings?) when compiling the level. This way sounds are always updated and the worflow gets more polished. (maybe assign a unique sound.txt per level, too?)
  • Allow manipulation of the resulting triangulation of planar Geo
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"

Last edited by TR-Freak; 14-12-17 at 17:37.
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-17, 18:16   #540
MontyTRC
Historian
 
MontyTRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 486
Default

Hi
@TR-Frak probably in the future I will add also other TRs, starting from TR5. We have discussed about tessellation in the past and we are deciding if implement it or not. Static meshes can't partecipate to static light, the only way would be taking their vertices and putting them directly into the room mesh data. But there's another problem. Core's raytracer for shadows (I've decompiled it) is very efficient, but because it makes assumptions on the geometry. So it can work only with 1024 units blocks and if there's a slope it takes the mean value. But it's fast. Raytracer could not be so efficient with reallly custom geometry. For sounds, we are discussing a lot about how to do things. Sounds are loaded when WAD is loaded because in this way the compile time of level is very short.

@uweprofft I can't understand what you mean with "Only these integers and letters disturb".

@Franky have you added the path which contains those samples?
__________________
Tomb Editor Main developer
MontyTRC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 00:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.