www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-20, 02:00   #1
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,415
Default Modern GPU - Classic TR Engine

Is it possible for a modern GPU to be too powerful for the classic TR engine causing slowdown?

This mainly affects custom levels with highly detailed textures and objects.

The reason I say that the GPU is too powerful is the following:
  1. dgVoodoo 2 solves the problem
  2. The GPU in question can run more demanding games without issue

The GPU in question is an AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT.

Can anyone explain the technical details behind this?
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-20, 09:52   #2
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,593
Default

I'd say it is possible, either for sheer processor speed, or mismatched calls to some gfx function in a DLL or another

what dgVoodoo 2 version makes it?
most of all, what exactly are the classic TR engine specs that would cause the lag? would there be any debug version of it to study (like the useful dosbox debugger version)?
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-20, 10:06   #3
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,415
Default

DgVoodoo version is 2.71.3. Second question I can't answer.

Here's one situation.
With a custom level such as Coyote Creek on my Radeon RX 5700XT, if I run the game without dgVoodoo 2, the game runs at an unplayable framerate. When running with dgVoodoo 2, the game runs at full speed.

On my older card (Radeon RX 560), the game ran fine without dgVoodoo 2.

Since dgVoodoo 2 converts the API to Direct3D 11 or 12, it leads me to believe that it's something to do with the handling of older Direct3D versions.
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-20, 10:44   #4
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opaque79 View Post
Since dgVoodoo 2 converts the API to Direct3D 11 or 12, it leads me to believe that it's something to do with the handling of older Direct3D versions.
it seems a sensible inference

I never had to use dgVoodoo2
I see there's also one v2.71.3 spec release with Debug Layer for API tracing there that Dege had published
although, if it's already working, maybe one should mind Dege's own caveat:
Quote:
Do not look for a miracle when using the debug layer! If some game doesn't work for you then it can give you some useful feedback on what's going on, or you can see if dgVoodoo is utilized at all but won't necessarily tell you why the game crashes, for example.
anyway there's nothing to fix about it, so concerning the Radeon RX 560 maybe only Dege himself could say, you could ask him directly
or else referring to the Radeon docs, manuals & development kit stuff.
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 05-12-20 at 10:46.
gidierre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-20, 11:25   #5
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,415
Default

So essentially it's one of tech's mysteries that dgVoodoo happens to solve.

DgVoodoo doesn't have problems btw.

Seems it's a question left unanswered. At least dgVoodoo solves it.
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-20, 13:23   #6
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,593
Default

Not really a mystery probably and possibly not quite an unanswered one

I don't have a Radeon RX 5700XT to try, but I found there have been issues apparently with driver install and/or versions (that wouldn't be the first, nor the last time...) duly reported and addressed/fixed for some at least

take a look at these links
to avoid the hideous tl;dr effect
I sort of tried to order the most relevant ones first
there's something with DirectX capability too at times

good thing dgVoodoo 2 can wrap it up (no pun, actually indeed: pun intended )
wrappers will always come handy (when they make the trick)


__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 05-12-20 at 13:25.
gidierre is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-20, 13:35   #7
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,415
Default

None of those issues I have. I already had to clean install the drivers after the latest one caused issues.

Thanks for the input but I'm going to stop chasing the issue as dgVoodoo is the cure
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 14:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.