www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-06-16, 09:31   #21
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,141
Exclamation

^
Please do not double post like that. It is considered spam on this forum and is therefor discouraged.
Use the Edit button instead in case you want to add/change something in a post before somebody has replied.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-16, 18:19   #22
laracroft1997
Archaeologist
 
laracroft1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 2,449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zdimension View Post
FINALLY! Now, "re-compilation" of a level (i.e. converting a TR2 level to a TR2 level, so that the result should be identical to the input) works perfectly (for TR1 up to TR3). The only differences between input and output are some frame index or offset stuff (that doesn't affect gameplay). Now, I am going to finish the TR4 and TR5 code, and then I will try converting levels between different games.
YAYAYAYAYAY do you have a release date planned ?

Last edited by laracroft1997; 30-06-16 at 18:21.
laracroft1997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-16, 23:24   #23
Kyle K.
Student
 
Kyle K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: In a house similar to the Classic Croft Manor (I Wish)
Posts: 222
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by zdimension View Post
I'm currently working on a program that can convert TR levels between game versions (ex: play The Great Wall with TR5). It's made in C# (so it'll be crossplatform). It's currently called 'TRLevelConverter', but it's temporary, if you have an idea of name tell me.
This would be an incredible tool for Tomb Raider Modders such as myself! This sounds very promising! Keep up the great work!

Quote:
Originally Posted by laracroft1997 View Post
it would be really useful For Tomb Raider Mod Launcher , Good Luck
Yes it would be! We could convert levels from TR1, 2, and 3 to TR4 so we could play them in Multiplayer .
__________________
Tomb Raider Addict |Hardcore & Casual Gamer |Republican who supports LGBT Rights
Kyle K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-06-16, 23:50   #24
SrDanielPonces
Relic Hunter
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Portugal
Posts: 8,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle K. View Post
convert levels from TR1, 2, and 3 to TR4 so we could play them in Multiplayer .
I wonder how some of those enemies would work..
SrDanielPonces is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 02:43   #25
Kyle K.
Student
 
Kyle K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: In a house similar to the Classic Croft Manor (I Wish)
Posts: 222
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by SrDanielPonces View Post
I wonder how some of those enemies would work..
Yes that does bring up a good point. How would the animations and actions of the enemies work? Usually a direct conversion doesn't cut it. You usually have to do more work in order for it to work properly.
__________________
Tomb Raider Addict |Hardcore & Casual Gamer |Republican who supports LGBT Rights
Kyle K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 02:49   #26
zdimension
Hobbyist
 
zdimension's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Somewhere in France
Posts: 66
Default

yay


Last edited by zdimension; 01-07-16 at 03:09.
zdimension is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 08:39   #27
stohrendorf
Hobbyist
 
stohrendorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zdimension View Post
It's currently called 'TRLevelConverter', but it's temporary, if you have an idea of name tell me.
TRidiculus
stohrendorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 08:54   #28
Cochrane
Gold Contributor
 
Cochrane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 16,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stohrendorf View Post
TRidiculus
Oh come on. Maybe for the original engines with all their hardcoding, sure, but if someone were to write a new engine where all the enemy behavior and so on is specified in Lua scripts, this might be a useful thing for people who want to upgrade old levels.
__________________
GŁter auf die Bahn!
Cochrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 08:58   #29
stohrendorf
Hobbyist
 
stohrendorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 77
Default

I didn't want to say that I think this project is ridiculous, I was just thinking about Harry Potter and the "Ridiculus" spell after watching the video. It's certainly a pretty cool project.
stohrendorf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 09:23   #30
Cochrane
Gold Contributor
 
Cochrane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 16,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stohrendorf View Post
I didn't want to say that I think this project is ridiculous, I was just thinking about Harry Potter and the "Ridiculus" spell after watching the video. It's certainly a pretty cool project.
Ah, okay. Sorry for the misunderstanding! In that light it's an interesting name actually.
__________________
GŁter auf die Bahn!
Cochrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.