www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-17, 04:05   #601
andrewsyc
Hobbyist
 
andrewsyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Default

It might be my own supplied .phd files?

You are building around the files to support them so perhaps it's because different phd or psx files?

I'm using all .phd files from my github repo: https://github.com/andrewsyc/Tomb-Ra.../Tomb-Raider-1

Below is the one provided on your site for Lara's home:


When I load Lara's home from my files:


That's the only other reason offhand why it might not be working.
andrewsyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-17, 10:22   #602
XProger
Historian
 
XProger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Russia
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewsyc View Post
It might be my own supplied .phd files?
Hmmm, looks like for some reason your files has different size (I used size to detect level id). From what TR1 version were they taken?
XProger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-17, 16:58   #603
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 9,209
Default

Maybe you're playing from beta version or something? Lara never had that outfit in her home, she always had sweatpants.
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-17, 19:27   #604
andrewsyc
Hobbyist
 
andrewsyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XProger View Post
Hmmm, looks like for some reason your files has different size (I used size to detect level id). From what TR1 version were they taken?
That's logical unless the files are exactly the same just a bit off then it seems it won't do what it's supposed to do.

I'm glad this was caught otherwise it could create lots of confusion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustie View Post
Maybe you're playing from beta version or something? Lara never had that outfit in her home, she always had sweatpants.
I'm not sure as I've only used Lara's Home and tombviewer and in OpenLara so I don't know what would happen in the actual game engine. The Tomb Raider 1 files I got were from some demo I found on a random site, it was easy to extract them. I got most of the original Tomb Raider levels from the 1st generations. Some of the files I extracted for Tomb Raider 4 and 5 took a little bit of work.


I just looked at the size differents of the .PSX and .PHD files.

Here are some examples, XProger PSX file then PHD files I use:

I haven't read all of the Rosetta Stone so I don't know how each game system (PC/PlayStation/Saturn) are deployed.

Gym:



Caves:



City of Vilcabamba:


Last edited by andrewsyc; 05-10-17 at 19:30.
andrewsyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-17, 19:52   #605
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustie View Post
Maybe you're playing from beta version or something? Lara never had that outfit in her home, she always had sweatpants.
Actually she had both skins in Lara's home, sweatpants one was in extra slot. Only headmesh was replaced with head from ordinary model (if you remember "potato head" bug in early OT builds, it was related to this )
Lwmte is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-17, 20:03   #606
andrewsyc
Hobbyist
 
andrewsyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XProger View Post
Hmmm, looks like for some reason your files has different size (I used size to detect level id). From what TR1 version were they taken?
That was the problem, I found a PlayStation archive and managed to extract it.

Fun teleporting and watching how fast the camera moves.
I'll upload all the PSX files to my archive.

PSX files: https://github.com/andrewsyc/Tomb-Ra...er-1-PSX-Files

andrewsyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-17, 20:24   #607
andrewsyc
Hobbyist
 
andrewsyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Default

So what is the reason for different file size? Embedded assets in the PHD files? Just curious.
andrewsyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-17, 11:15   #608
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 9,209
Default

Which TR1 version are they from?
Dustie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-17, 14:40   #609
vvsgh
Student
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 134
Default

Apparently there are at least two different versions. One has Oct 30, 1996 timestamp and another Nov 5, 1996. Both timestamps are embedded in tomb.exe executable by compiler. Also, data files have Oct 25, 1996 and Nov 5, 1996 timestamps respectively. They are slightly different.
vvsgh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-17, 16:23   #610
andrewsyc
Hobbyist
 
andrewsyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvsgh View Post
Apparently there are at least two different versions. One has Oct 30, 1996 timestamp and another Nov 5, 1996. Both timestamps are embedded in tomb.exe executable by compiler. Also, data files have Oct 25, 1996 and Nov 5, 1996 timestamps respectively. They are slightly different.
version 1.6 is the one I downloaded from the PSX ISOs that works.
andrewsyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 16:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.