www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-19, 14:33   #1
The Great Chi
The Inscrutable One
 
The Great Chi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beyond the Floating Islands
Posts: 9,399
Default Cannot get TR4 games to work

Had a virus recently on my WIN 7 computer, so reinstated back to factory settings, but now cannot get TR4 game to work, nor any custom TR4 game from TRLE.net, Need help. (TR1, TR2 TR3 and TRC work fine).

When starting the game. I click the tr4 exe and the main screen comes up as shown below, but the 'new game' symbol does not flash, ie, the screen is frozen, background is frozen, and when pressing enter 'new game' it crashes.


If you look at the data file, you see a 'not-normal' icon for script and english. It is a different program called clear.fi, is this causing the problem?


Thanks, Cheers Chi
__________________
Humble words by The Great Chi

Last edited by The Great Chi; 11-11-19 at 14:37.
The Great Chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-19, 23:25   #2
Patrick Shannon
Explorer
 
Patrick Shannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 769
Default

Terrible news, Great Chi.

I hope someone here can help you!
__________________
Here's to our beloved bug scientist, rr_carroll: R.I.P. July 11, 2013
Patrick Shannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-19, 11:01   #3
The Great Chi
The Inscrutable One
 
The Great Chi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beyond the Floating Islands
Posts: 9,399
Default

Yeh Patrick it sucks

I think the problem is that English and Script is trying to open with the clear.fi program (as icon)

Can someone open a tr4 file and look at English properties, right click on English, goto properties. Tell me what 'Opens with' says, and I might be able to use the change button to get it on the correct program or maybe it should be no program.

__________________
Humble words by The Great Chi

Last edited by The Great Chi; 13-11-19 at 11:07.
The Great Chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-19, 11:50   #4
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,244
Default

Windows Shell Common Dll.

__________________
IronFistLaw75
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-19, 16:08   #5
The Great Chi
The Inscrutable One
 
The Great Chi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beyond the Floating Islands
Posts: 9,399
Default

Thanks Laravison, I removed clear.fi program completely from my computer, I have never used that program, so it is no big deal to get rid it.

Now I have Windows Shell Common Dll on both the English dat and Script dat coming up, so that good.

But it did not solve it, I am still getting screen freeze, with title music playing, and it still crashes when 'new game' selected.
Any other help would be appreciated.

Is there any dll's missing from my computer to get the game to run?
__________________
Humble words by The Great Chi
The Great Chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-19, 17:25   #6
JoelCaesar
Archaeologist
 
JoelCaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: 8th DLC's Tomb
Posts: 2,266
Default

I hate to say it but perhaps you should just redownload/install the game again. Now that you have removed that application from your computer.
__________________
Just think. You wouldn't be needing those unsightly weapons anymore. :)
JoelCaesar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-19, 09:35   #7
The Great Chi
The Inscrutable One
 
The Great Chi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beyond the Floating Islands
Posts: 9,399
Default

@JoelCaesar...Thanks, tried uninstalling TR4 game, and reinstalling, and still the same problem. It just freezes, plays music, and when press enter 'new game' it crashes
__________________
Humble words by The Great Chi
The Great Chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-19, 10:16   #8
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,244
Default

Have you tried clearing the registry entries for Tomb Raider 4, using a tool such as trrc (Tomb Raider registry cleaner)?
__________________
IronFistLaw75
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-19, 12:25   #9
charmedangelin
Tomb Raider
 
charmedangelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 12,790
Default

Check your driver's as well. What kind of virus was it? Sometimes the virus can make changes to a restore point and invade parts of the system that can cause it to still be problematic depending on what the virus was.
__________________
Black Lives Matter #George Floyd
charmedangelin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-19, 14:40   #10
The Great Chi
The Inscrutable One
 
The Great Chi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beyond the Floating Islands
Posts: 9,399
Default

Unfortunately that trcc tool is only for win XP and vista, I have win 7 and I have no idea how to clean the registry. I downloaded regseeker that does clean the registry, but no idea how to use it.

The problem with the computer was a total 'black screen of death' on windows start up every attempt, so I assumed a virus. I used the f8 button on startup to get to a recover screen and used the back to factory settings option. It then automatically wiped the C drive and reinstated win 7 and other programs from a hidden partition on the disk, back to origonal factory settings, I then put back my own programs to do with Tomb Raider and other stuff. Everything works except TR4.exe games.
__________________
Humble words by The Great Chi

Last edited by The Great Chi; 14-11-19 at 14:44.
The Great Chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.