www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider III

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-12-16, 16:25   #1
MartimMonteiro
Student
 
MartimMonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 113
Default TR3 Widescreen Resolution Issue (4k)

Hi,

I got a 4k monitor and I saw that is possible to play the TR Classics in 4k, but in-game I can't set the resolution to 3840x2160... The max resolution I can use is 2048x1536. I tried to use the widescreen patch but it didn't work.. On the setup window I chose 4k resolution but the game crashed and opened the setup window again and only worked with the 2048x1536 resolution... I also tried to use the 4k .exe from innuendo1231 but didn't work as well... This happens to TR2 too... Does anyone knows how I can play TR2 and TR3 in widescreen with 4k resolution?
MartimMonteiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-16, 19:07   #2
ToMbRaIdErxFtW
Historian
 
ToMbRaIdErxFtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK & Mexico
Posts: 453
Default

Click this link here:
http://www.tombraiderforums.com/showthread.php?t=210600

On the third post, try to copy everything in the screenshot in your settings.
On the "Glide" section, make sure that for "3dfx card", "other greater (free to configure)" is selected and that "Memory size per TMU" is set to 524288 KB. Also make "Onboard RAM" 16 MB and "Number of TMU'S" is set to 3.

On the "DirectX" section, make sure that "Videocard" is set to dgVoodoo Virtual 3d accelerated card. Then set "VRAM" to 524288 KB.

After that, apply and exit. Then go to the "MS" folder in your dgVoodoo directory and copy over the 2 files in there to the Tomb raider folder where your exe file is. overight the files if prompted to.


Now click on this link and download the advanced verision of the widescreen patch.
http://tombraiders.net/stella/downloads/widescreen.html

Now open up the widescreen patch and check the box for widescreen patch and select "16:9" as the aspect ratio. forget about the other stuff for now. Then press go and find the exe file of the Tomb Raider game you want to make widescreen. (Dont forget to backup the exe before you do this)

Now just go to the setup options of the Tomb Raider game and select dgvoodoo as the video card and set 3840x2160 as the resolution. Good luck

hopefully this helps.

Last edited by ToMbRaIdErxFtW; 25-12-16 at 19:11.
ToMbRaIdErxFtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-16, 19:18   #3
MartimMonteiro
Student
 
MartimMonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 113
Default

Thank you, it worked! Now I can play on 4k both games!
MartimMonteiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-12-16, 21:39   #4
ToMbRaIdErxFtW
Historian
 
ToMbRaIdErxFtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK & Mexico
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartimMonteiro View Post
Thank you, it worked! Now I can play on 4k both games!
Glad to be of use.
ToMbRaIdErxFtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-16, 16:09   #5
MartimMonteiro
Student
 
MartimMonteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Portugal
Posts: 113
Default TR3 GOLD still stretched

Hello again

I got TR3 Gold and I made the same thing I did for TR3 and TR2... The game runs at 4k but even after using the widescreen patch, the image in-game still looks stretched... I don't know if this happens because I didn't use innuendo1231's 3840x2160.exe, since there is none... Can someone help me?
MartimMonteiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-17, 21:41   #6
jschuuring
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 186
Default

sorry i have no solution for you, but a question,i play tr3 on a 1920-1080 hdtv, tr3 resolution 1360-768, if i go higher the blue color from the airbar is difficult to see, tr1 on glrage 1920-1080 is no problem the bars are greather, how is that on 4k high resolution?
jschuuring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-17, 00:05   #7
Kirishima
Explorer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jschuuring View Post
sorry i have no solution for you, but a question,i play tr3 on a 1920-1080 hdtv, tr3 resolution 1360-768, if i go higher the blue color from the airbar is difficult to see, tr1 on glrage 1920-1080 is no problem the bars are greather, how is that on 4k high resolution?
That's because TR1 was never supposed to display at that resolution. Despite glrage displaying Tomb Raider in resolutions that fit todays monitors, the game still thinks it's being displayed at its original lower resolution, so it displays the health bar as such. It's currently possible to do this for the other games with something like dgvoodoo2, but you'd be forced to a 4:3 aspect ratio.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-17, 18:52   #8
jschuuring
Inactive
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: the netherlands
Posts: 186
Default

thanks for the respons, so the bars are the same and the game is higher resolution, maby i try dgvoodoo, tr1 looks greater with glrage than tr3 low resolution, tr1 is also 4:3 how is that? i no 1920-1080 is not 4k i try dgvoodoo on the other tr games.

Last edited by jschuuring; 10-01-17 at 19:17.
jschuuring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-21, 23:32   #9
Rufinoman
Hobbyist
 
Rufinoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Buenos Aires
Posts: 62
Default

I know this is an old thread, but just to say that this solution works perfectly for 2560 x 1440.
DGVoodoo solves a multitude of issues. What a great program.
Rufinoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.