www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider III

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-21, 21:33   #1
Feder
Historian
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 335
Default Extra harpoons when finishing a level

This has been bugging me for ages

When you look at the inventory at the start of level 2, there is an extra bundle of harpoons given to you magically. This happens again at level 3, and I'm pretty sure it keeps on happening during the game.



At first I thought it was a "silent" reward for getting all the secrets, but it happens anyway if you miss them.

However, you need to have picked up the first harpoons, otherwise the item won't create itself.

There is no command on the TOMBPC.DAT that controls it, seems to be hardcoded on the exe... but why?

Did anyone noticed this before? How long does this event repeats during the game? Why harpoons?

So many questions...
Feder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-21, 02:19   #2
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,433
Default

Well known ^_^ theres a few explanations/theories in the tr3 subforum - cant remember any personally but, worth a read!
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-21, 02:52   #3
Greenapple968
Tomb Raider
 
Greenapple968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Barkhang Monastery
Posts: 11,350
Default

Too bad they don't give us extra Desert Eagle ammo instead.
__________________
It only takes one person to be right.
Greenapple968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-21, 12:39   #4
Feder
Historian
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenapple968 View Post
Too bad they don't give us extra Desert Eagle ammo instead.
Maybe Core was like: "ok, players complained about not having enough harpoons in TR2, so now we're gonna stack harpoons in every corner of Lud's Gate, aaaand give away free harpoons on each level!"

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei View Post
Well known ^_^ theres a few explanations/theories in the tr3 subforum - cant remember any personally but, worth a read!
So there is a thread about it already? I couldn't find it
Feder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-21, 01:15   #5
perryloo
Historian
 
perryloo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Sunny UK
Posts: 419
Default

Never really used the harpoon gun much, as it was for me far too slow to kill underwater enemies.

I got onto dry land and fired everything at them in the water
If no dry land I would just out-swim them
perryloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-21, 04:30   #6
Greenapple968
Tomb Raider
 
Greenapple968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Barkhang Monastery
Posts: 11,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feder View Post
Maybe Core was like: "ok, players complained about not having enough harpoons in TR2, so now we're gonna stack harpoons in every corner of Lud's Gate, aaaand give away free harpoons on each level!"
I never use the harpoon gun, so you won't catch me moaning about a lack of ammo.
__________________
It only takes one person to be right.
Greenapple968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-21, 14:49   #7
akci
Historian
 
akci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Budapest, Hungary Gender: ♂
Posts: 477
Default

It happens at the start of any level when you already have some harpoons, but don't have the harpoon gun. And it's an engine-bug, so Lost Artefact too.
akci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-21, 01:39   #8
Boobandie
Professor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,250
Default

Interesting bug. I quite like the harpoon gun actually, deadly in water and moreso on land. Sure it isn't my main weapon of choice, but it's fun to use it occasionally.

So what causes the bug? Is it in TR2? If not then what changed with 3.
Boobandie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-21, 01:47   #9
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feder View Post
So there is a thread about it already? I couldn't find it
If you used the forum search feature - it's not so great lol

Google using [your desired topic to find site:tombraiderforums.com] on google - no square brackets ofcourse. I find this optimal to find stuff easier here!

Bit of a deconstruct here - https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...d.php?t=213333

Last edited by mizuno_suisei; 05-08-21 at 01:48.
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-21, 22:31   #10
Feder
Historian
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizuno_suisei View Post
If you used the forum search feature - it's not so great lol

Google using [your desired topic to find site:tombraiderforums.com] on google - no square brackets ofcourse. I find this optimal to find stuff easier here!

Bit of a deconstruct here - https://www.tombraiderforums.com/sho...d.php?t=213333
Ahhh thanks for the link

So it's an engine bug then

Funny, sometimes you expect a deep an logical explanation for things that happen in a game and the most typical answer is "it's just a bug"

Well the mystery is solved, and there was already a trhead that explains it a lot better so there may be no point on continuing with this one
Feder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 18:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.