www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider III > The Lost Artifact

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 14-08-20, 10:48   #41
Dermahn
Hobbyist
 
Dermahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 96
Default

Could it be the CPU? My old computer, where the game would crash on the title screen, had an AMD processor just like Nickelony and Sardoc. My new computer, where the game runs flawlessly, has an Intel processor
Dermahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-20, 11:15   #42
Sardoc
Archaeologist
 
Sardoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 1,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickelony View Post
Well, I already gave my specs earlier, but here is the full thing:
CPU: Ryzen 5 2600x
GPU: Zotac GeForce GTX 1070Ti Mini (Driver version: 451.67)
MOBO: MSI B450M Gaming Plus
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4, 2x8GB, 3200 MHz, CL16

OS: Windows 10 2004

Someone should update to Win10 2004 and check if it works for them.
I tested TR3GOLD on 2 Win10 2004 PCs and the game doesn't launch on either of them.


EDIT: My friend who is running Win10 2004 managed to run TR3GOLD without issues, so I guess that theory is now invalid.
Ok thanks.

What CPU and graphics card does your friend have? Maybe we're on to something.
Sardoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-20, 11:36   #43
Nickelony
Hobbyist
 
Nickelony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardoc View Post
Ok thanks.

What CPU and graphics card does your friend have? Maybe we're on to something.
I know for sure that his CPU is an Intel Core i7 8700k but I'm not sure about his GPU, though I think it's a GTX 1080Ti
Nickelony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-20, 11:56   #44
Sardoc
Archaeologist
 
Sardoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 1,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickelony View Post
I know for sure that his CPU is an Intel Core i7 8700k but I'm not sure about his GPU, though I think it's a GTX 1080Ti
Rrright. Maybe it is AMD cpu that's at fault then.

Do you by any chance have LC: Guardian of Light game? That doesn't start on my machine either, when it was running perfectly fine on the old PC (Intel Q6600 from 2008).
Sardoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-08-20, 19:45   #45
ackamonk
Hobbyist
 
ackamonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardoc View Post
Rrright. Maybe it is AMD cpu that's at fault then..
I'm wondering this, I have an old machine with a Q6600 which can run it perfectly, but it crashes on my current machine (Ryzen 3200G) despite all my efforts.
ackamonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-08-20, 02:45   #46
Sardoc
Archaeologist
 
Sardoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 1,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ackamonk View Post
I'm wondering this, I have an old machine with a Q6600 which can run it perfectly, but it crashes on my current machine (Ryzen 3200G) despite all my efforts.
It would certainly match the pattern. My old PC also has a Q6600. It runs Win 7 x64, and every single classic TR, all 3 expansions, the Times level, and custom levels work flawlessly. Even the ones for PSX and Saturn on their respective emulators.
Sardoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-20, 16:47   #47
Nickelony
Hobbyist
 
Nickelony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 24
Default

Okay, so I had the biggest WTF moment right now.

I have sent the same TR3GOLD CD image I used on my PC to a friend with a Intel CPU and the game worked for him straight out of the box.

I have sent the same image to a friend with a Ryzen CPU, and it failed.
So far, everyone with a Ryzen CPU failed to run the game, so I guess it's kinda obvious that it's a CPU related issue, right?

Well... kinda I guess.
I actually managed run the game, by putting a config.txt file next to the tr3gold.exe file with these settings inside:
Code:
DD 0
D3D 1
D3DTF 1
DS 0
VM 18
ZBUFFER 1
DITHER 1
FILTER 0
AGP 0
SOUND 1
JOYSTICK 0
MMX 0
SFX 10
MUSIC 5
GAMMA 3.000000
DEFKEY 200 208 203 205 52 53 54 184 157 57 51 82 207 1
USERKEY 72 80 75 77 83 79 54 184 157 57 76 82 207 1
BUT, running the setup afterwards breaks it again.
Leaving the game and running it again also breaks it.
To fix it, you have to re-save the config.txt file with notepad and it works again. This is soo odd...
Also that fix only works on one of 3 TR3GOLD versions I've tested.

This is soo weird...

EDIT: The game still doesn't work correctly. Plugging in a gamepad instantly crashes it. All levels work though, but playing the game feels super unstable.

Last edited by Nickelony; 17-08-20 at 18:04.
Nickelony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-20, 10:08   #48
ATombRaiderFan
Student
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 103
Default

I've just updated my PC to Windows 10 2004 and can confirm that Lost Artifact still works. My PC uses an intel CPU btw so no change in the pattern there.
ATombRaiderFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-08-20, 17:56   #49
ackamonk
Hobbyist
 
ackamonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 18
Default

I wonder if this affecting all users of Ryzen chips or just those using the embedded graphics (like me) without a dedicated card.
ackamonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-20, 13:45   #50
Sardoc
Archaeologist
 
Sardoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United Kingdom (England)
Posts: 1,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ackamonk View Post
I wonder if this affecting all users of Ryzen chips or just those using the embedded graphics (like me) without a dedicated card.
I don't have an integrated gpu as far as I know, so it has to be all Ryzen chips.
Sardoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 20:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.