www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-10-21, 13:43   #4341
jvry
Hobbyist
 
jvry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
Exactly! For the longest time, I used SDF ZXCV for my Tomb Raider controls. I more recently changed to GHJ VBNM so didn't have to keep reassigning my controls to activate DOZY

Worked out well, since I now need to use the default "," for my Flare/PLS with the Classic Ring Inventory plugin
That sounds like a very uncomfortable hand layout. No wonder you have to have the cats do all your building for you.
jvry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-21, 23:56   #4342
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jvry View Post
That sounds like a very uncomfortable hand layout. No wonder you have to have the cats do all your building for you.
What ever do you mean?? It's super ergonomic! I use the numpads for my directions and Walk, I could never get used to the arrow keys
__________________
Alias: AnkhOfMishra
justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-21, 08:29   #4343
Gancian
Student
 
Gancian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern Italy
Posts: 241
Default

Can somebody explain me the technical difference between the grey BOX button and the blue NON-WALKABLE button?
I can't seem to grasp exactly what they do in terms of splitting the zones where the enemies can roam. Thanks in advance.
__________________
One side will make me grow taller, the other side will make me grow shorter.
Gancian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-21, 11:35   #4344
justin
Professor
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gancian View Post
Can somebody explain me the technical difference between the grey BOX button and the blue NON-WALKABLE button?
I can't seem to grasp exactly what they do in terms of splitting the zones where the enemies can roam. Thanks in advance.
The grey box does a unique thing when placed on the same square with a door object.. The enemy can enter that square when the door is open.
__________________
Alias: AnkhOfMishra
justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-21, 12:37   #4345
TR-Freak
Relic Hunter
 
TR-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deutschland
Posts: 5,123
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gancian View Post
Can somebody explain me the technical difference between the grey BOX button and the blue NON-WALKABLE button?
I can't seem to grasp exactly what they do in terms of splitting the zones where the enemies can roam. Thanks in advance.
The grey box button - as explained by justin - is used in conjunction with DOOR objects.

It blocks the square the door is placed for enemies when the door is closed.
This avoids enemies to find Lara and thus running against the door.


The "Non Walkable" floor is completely blocked for enemies. It means enemies can't reach Lara if she is on that floor.
__________________
"Your perception of good timing is...bad!"
TR-Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-21, 14:24   #4346
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 33,090
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PedroTheGamer View Post
you not type ''dozy'' you need press all ''dozy'' buttons at same time to get it working
No need to press them all at the same time.
At least not here at my end.
I can simply type it by pressing the keys one by one.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-21, 15:33   #4347
PedroTheGamer
Explorer
 
PedroTheGamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 703
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
No need to press them all at the same time.
At least not here at my end.
I can simply type it by pressing the keys one by one.
oooh my bad ia always press dozy buttons at same time,i didn't know you can type one by one lol
__________________
"Never felt so unimportant,Everything I've ever said has been taken in vain"
PedroTheGamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 16:32   #4348
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,483
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR-Freak View Post
The grey box button - as explained by justin - is used in conjunction with DOOR objects.

It blocks the square the door is placed for enemies when the door is closed.
This avoids enemies to find Lara and thus running against the door.


The "Non Walkable" floor is completely blocked for enemies. It means enemies can't reach Lara if she is on that floor.
My experience:
Box in NGLE (and probably also in TRLE, I can't remember any more):
- enemy cannot cross it to reach forbidden places on the other side
- enemy cannot walk into here, to be stuck in geometry, to walk into objects or to reach Lara,
- when the door is closed, then the enemy cannot cross
- highly increases overlaps and boxes

Box in TE seems exactly the same:
- enemy cannot cross it to reach forbidden places on the other side
- enemy cannot walk into here, to be stuck in geometry, to walk into objects or to reach Lara,
- when the door is closed, then the enemy cannot cross
- highly increases overlaps and boxes

Non-walkable in TE:
- enemy cannot cross it to reach forbidden places on the other side
- enemy cannot walk into here, to be stuck in geometry, to walk into objects or to reach Lara,
- at the door, the enemy cannot cross ever
- hardly increases/doesn't increase overlaps and boxes

So in TE, Box and Non-walkable are the same in this meaning:
- enemy cannot cross it to reach forbidden places on the other side
- enemy cannot walk into here, to be stuck in geometry, to walk into objects or to reach Lara,

In TE, Box and Non-walkable differs "only" in these:
- at the door, Non-walkable is always a barrier to the enemy, but Box is only if the door is closed
- you can keep overlaps/box counters lower with using Non-walkable instead of Box.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 06:28   #4349
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkyV View Post
Perhaps an import level issue (TE):
I imported Karnak level of TRLE (in fact, NGLE), saved as a PRJ2, in a level subfolder ("karnak") of my Documents\TE_Test_Project\Levels. Only to test something - so I left WAD and TGA in the original TRLE routes...
Not TE issue, but issue of original prj file format. It also loses paths if you move project file around. TE just imports original folder structure, so if you move new prj2 file around, you still need to manually fix paths.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 13:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.