www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-19, 18:02   #1
LGG_PRODUCTION
Explorer
 
LGG_PRODUCTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 716
Default Meshtree problem

Hey there, I'm trying to make the lion of TR1 working properly on TRLE
I would like to modify the meshtree of the lion, so that it will be the same of TR4 dog, but the first mesh of the dog is his butt, and the first mesh of the lion is the chest..
How can I modify the mesh ID of the first mesh?
__________________
I hope in some good news about TRNG!
LGG_PRODUCTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-19, 18:43   #2
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,147
Default

Would importing the lion's meshes into the dog work?
Replacing the dog's head with the lion head and so on.
You may need to move the meshes a bit in the No Anim slot to make them connect properly.

It's what I tend to do because I do not know how to edit a meshtree.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-19, 19:03   #3
LGG_PRODUCTION
Explorer
 
LGG_PRODUCTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 716
Default

With TRWad Reorganizer I can edit the meshtree, but the first mesh must be the first mesh..

The enemy that I'm making is a tiger, but TR2-3 one has the meshes that are uncorrectly rotated in Wad Merger..
__________________
I hope in some good news about TRNG!
LGG_PRODUCTION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-19, 19:11   #4
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,147
Default

Replacing the meshes of the dog will keep the meshtree of the dog, so if editing the meshtree is not working...

I've edited enemies this way. It sometimes needs editing in Meta as well (some rotation and/or positioning mostly), but it has done the trick fine for me so far.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-19, 19:45   #5
disapearing-boy
Archaeologist
 
disapearing-boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Čire
Posts: 2,265
Default

To be honest I don't think you can renumber the first mesh of an enemy.

Even if you could, it would mess up the animations of the Lion since it all rotates around it's chest and not it's butt.

Your biggest issue with the Lion will be it's size - the TR4 dog is tiny and will wait to get very close to Lara for many of it's attacks. This effect will be worsened if it's first mesh is the Lion's butt as it's even further way from Lara, further worsening the enemy distance detection. [AFAIK]

I once combined both TR2dragons [Front & Back] into the same slot and the animations of the front were all rotated wrongly since each dragon slot had it's own mesh0. They all had to be fixed manually.

As long as the Lion's attack meshes (mouth & front paws) have the same number as the Jackal's then everything will be fine. Mesh#0 shouldn't matter then.
__________________
"Never sigh for a better world, it's already composed, played and told..."

Last edited by disapearing-boy; 01-08-19 at 19:47.
disapearing-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-19, 05:04   #6
Boobandie
Professor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3,709
Default

Wouldn't you end up with DOG animations that way?

It might be better to just reorder the lions animations and match the StateID's to the TR4 dog.
Boobandie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-19, 09:36   #7
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boobandie View Post
Wouldn't you end up with DOG animations that way?
LOL! You are correct ofcourse!
Forgot about that.
When I edit enemies the way I described I already have the correct animations.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.