www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-19, 17:03   #131
Zellphie
Hobbyist
 
Zellphie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: France
Posts: 24
Default

Ah ok sorry, does it work now?
Zellphie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-19, 17:24   #132
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,906
Default

Yes, but also resize it, please, 1024x768 is the max allowed.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-19, 19:45   #133
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 7,065
Default

I have a question about the sound tool.

I'm using TR2 sounds converted to TR4 format.. and they all work fine.
I used the new sound tool to listen to audio and fix any pitch issues (most sounds had no pitch applied)
Some sounds still sounded high pitched.
Checked everything and I even deleted the Pitch manually using Sounds.txt.

Climb Up 3 (Lara's main climb sfx) still plays way too high pitch.

I put -70 into the Sound Tool pitch box to make it sound 'normal' and saved the XML.
In - game however.. she sounds very deep.. TOO deep..
When I set it to 0 - she sounds like a chipmunk lol

When I play the Sample SFX in windows etc - it plays the usual TR2 sound perfectly fine - so its not an edited file in any way..
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-19, 01:36   #134
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMN View Post
When pressing enter in the Scalable OCB input for statics, any new value is discarded. You need to defocus the input field first before it saves.
Also, $5000 in the script for this action trigger should be $4000:
Both issues will be fixed in 1.2.9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zellphie View Post
I try to import each meshes, but the program said
"error with the loading model..."
it's very frustrating because the 3D format is correct.
Help... :'(
Please send a model you are trying to load, I will check it out. Also, next time please report WT bugs in WT thread

@dcw123: SoundTool plays samples in the same way as tomb4 does - without any resampling. Native sample rate of tomb4 samples is 22050 hz - therefore, if you will try to play sample with sample rate of 44100 hz, it will just be pitched down twice. You need either to resample your TR2 samples back to 22050 hz or compensate sample rate difference with pitch value.

Last edited by Lwmte; 07-12-19 at 01:39.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-19, 17:47   #135
JMN
Explorer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
Both issues will be fixed in 1.2.9
Cool, thanks

Another thing, it isn't always clear whether additive blending mode has been applied in the editor. You first have to rotate the view to a certain angle:



It would also be nice to hide Toggle Opacity portals for easier editing.
JMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-19, 18:31   #136
dcw123
Relic Hunter
 
dcw123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: England, UK Gender:Male
Posts: 7,065
Default

Just had a strange error which has never happened before.

Is with some past projects, any changes we make to TGA sets will automatically be updated real time in the TombEditor.

I made some floor textures and it worked fine.
I textures an entire room and made another new texture (i needed a transition)

However, this time it did not update.
I deleted the TGA from the editor and reloaded the 'new' overwritten one.
All seemed OK.. until I went to save the project.
Editor tells me 'The given key was not present in the dictionary'

So now I guess I need to redo the entire room from scratch removing textures?
What would happen if this has happened during the middle of my level.. Would I have to retexture the entire thing?!
(The textures never changed and everything was as it was before.. I saw nothing different or broken looking (I overwrote a texture I wasn't even using at the time)

Looks like I'll have to restart my project again since this won't even let me save my project now. Hope it doesn't do this again in the future - otherwise my project is gonna be broken.
Would removing ALL textures and reloading the TGA again from scratch work - what I am supposed to do?

EDIT: OK so I 'Removed All Textures' from the 'level' and then loaded the TGA again - it saves fine.
I'm just glad I wasn't further into development coz retexturing an entire level again would kill me! It was only one room thank God!

Last edited by dcw123; 09-12-19 at 18:50.
dcw123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-19, 05:41   #137
ZeeBuilder
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: America
Posts: 30
Default

I can't start a level with build and play, I even imported the Karnak wad to see if it would work, nope, I checked the editor log and this is what it says.

[00:06:08.094 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 0 - Tomb Raider Level Compiler |
[00:06:08.141 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 0 - Preparing WAD data |
[00:06:08.157 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 1 - Building animations |
[00:06:08.657 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 10 - Converting static meshes |
[00:06:08.782 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 15 - Building rooms |
[00:06:09.641 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 20 - Number of rooms: 127 |
[00:06:09.641 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 23 - Matching vertex colors on portals... |
[00:06:12.969 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 25 - Vertex colors on portals matched. |
[00:06:12.969 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 30 - Packing textures |
[00:06:13.141 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 35 - Number of anim texture sequences: 1 |
[00:06:13.141 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 35 - Number of TexInfos: 2680 |
[00:06:13.141 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 40 - Building sound sources |
[00:06:13.157 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 41 - Number of sound sources: 23 |
[00:06:13.172 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 48 - Building pathfinding data |
[00:06:13.563 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 52 - Number of boxes/zones: 775 |
[00:06:13.563 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 52 - Number of overlaps: 5411 |
[00:06:13.563 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 40 - Building sound sources |
[00:06:13.579 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 41 - Number of sound sources: 46 |
[00:06:13.579 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 42 - Building items table |
[00:06:13.594 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 45 - Number of AI objects: 0 |
[00:06:13.594 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 45 - Number of items: 100 |
[00:06:13.610 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 46 - Building cameras and sinks |
[00:06:13.625 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 47 - Number of cameras: 5 |
[00:06:13.625 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 47 - Number of flyby cameras: 12 |
[00:06:13.625 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 47 - Number of sinks: 8 |
[00:06:13.641 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 53 - Building floordata |
[00:06:13.766 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 58 - Floordata size: 9028 bytes |
[00:06:13.782 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 59 - Building sprites |
[00:06:13.844 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 60 - Building final texture map |
[00:06:13.938 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 70 - Num room pages: 2 |
[00:06:13.938 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 70 - Num objects pages: 27 |
[00:06:13.938 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 70 - Num bumpmap pages: 8 |
[00:06:13.954 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog |
Writing level file...
|
[00:06:13.969 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 80 - Writing geometry data to memory buffer |
[00:06:16.297 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 90 - Writing final level |
[00:06:16.313 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 91 - Writing textures |
[00:06:16.313 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 95 - Compressing data |
[00:06:16.313 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 96 - Building font & sky textures |
[00:06:16.313 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 96 - Reading font texture: |
[00:06:16.328 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 96 - Reading sky texture: |
[00:06:17.344 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 96 - Writing compressed data to file. |
[00:06:17.344 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 97 - Writing WAVE sounds |
[00:06:17.344 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 99 - Done |
[00:06:17.375 INFO] TombEditor.Forms.FormOperationDialog | 100 - Elapsed time: 9278.3197ms |
[00:06:17.828 INFO] TombEditor.CommandHandler | BuildAndPlay |
[00:06:17.844 INFO] TombEditor.TombLauncher+Tomb4ConvinienceImprovemen ts | Level index: 3 |
[00:06:17.875 WARN] TombEditor.TombLauncher+Tomb4Patcher | An WinAPI error occurred in 'TombLauncher' at function 'NtSuspendProcess': 5 |

Sorry, I'm new with this editor.
ZeeBuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-19, 10:51   #138
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,074
Default

@JMN: This is renderer issue. Unfortunately, the guy who wrote it is gone, and nobody can do pretty much nothing with his code, so I doubt it will be fixed in near future, sorry

@dcw123: Auto-reloading feature is unreliable, but it's not directly related to TE, it's Windows issue which happens on certain configurations. Again, auto-reloading was written by the guy who disappeared from dev team, so only thing I can recommend for now is to turn it off in editor options.

@ZeeBuilder: Most likely tomb4 still hangs in memory, it sometimes happens with it because it's buggy as hell. Try to go to task manager and see if there's still unfinished tomb4 processes and shut down them manually.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-19, 14:03   #139
not again!
Explorer
 
not again!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 758
Default

A question regarding optimization and textures - do TE & WadTool convert textures in png or jpg format internally back to .bmp?

edit: to clarify a bit further - I'm wondering whether some UV mapped objects which due to their shape have a bit of unused texture space should be converted to STRPIX's old texturing method to save texture space, but if it's possible for the game to use textures in png or jpg format, then I guess the smaller file size of png would make up for the waste in texture space when it comes to optimization?

Last edited by not again!; 10-12-19 at 14:52.
not again! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-19, 15:32   #140
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 2,989
Default

There's no such thing in the compiled level (or even in WADs for that matter). There's one internal format used, to which the image is converted when you import it, so whether you use JPG, PNG, BMP or anything else won't make a difference. Same for audio.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.