www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 18-07-10, 10:01   #91
meta2tr
Historian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TR-Freak View Post
cool,and how do I change the Pivot?
Click on Local in Metasequoia. Then click on the mesh that has the pivot point that you want to move (in the object list).
meta2tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 10:02   #92
Nausinous
Relic Hunter
 
Nausinous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 8,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meta2tr View Post
You can import any mesh, I got most of mine from Google Warehouse :
Lara
Horse
Table

You add an object with a mesh tree in the original Wad. Then in Metasequoia, you replaces the meshes and adjust the pivot points if needed.
So do you need WADmerger or can you import objects into the WAD through Meta2?
Nausinous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 10:22   #93
meta2tr
Historian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by julien View Post
just amazing! good work
I found some bugs in the river
She swim and she can't go out the river
LOL that shouldn't happen. It's because there is a static with collision that overhangs the bridge. Anyway, I've fixed it, either download this file, and drag it onto meta2tr.exe that's in Data, and the level will update,
or download the entire demo level.

Last edited by meta2tr; 11-02-11 at 20:00. Reason: Added new link for demo level
meta2tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 10:36   #94
meta2tr
Historian
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nausinous View Post
So do you need WADmerger or can you import objects into the WAD through Meta2?
You can't import to the wad. The wad file format doesn't support uv-mapped objects. Only the TR4 file format does. So that's why meta2tr imports to the TR4 file.

For example, to import a new a uv-mapped horse, you need the horse object in your wad, as a place holder. Then when you have your level (the tr4 file), you can replace the old horse with a the new one.
meta2tr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 10:41   #95
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,220
Default

Psiko once stated that it is better to have one huge object instead of multiple smaller ones to prevent lagging.
Well, my Croft Manor is lagging in some areas and a large cave I made is also lagging.

Since I haven't used Meta2TR yet or looked at all the info this might be an obvious question... But...
My manor is pretty much finished. I have all the objects made and placed, etc.
Now, my idea was to delete some of the placed statics, lets say one particular plant, leave at least one in and convert to tr4.
Then use Meta2tr to open the level files with that one plant left in. All textured and lit, so those things are done.
Now, could I take that one leftover plant, copy it multiple times and make it part of the room geometry without having to texture each and every one of them all over again?
And would making them part of the room geometry indeed reduce the lagging?
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 10:54   #96
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,597
Default

building it as room geometry will reduce the lagging, but in case you use a fake invisible static to reproduce the collision, we're back at the same problem..
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 11:24   #97
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,220
Default

Well, I already deleted all the faces but the floor one of those invisible static objects. That already helped.
And those plants don't have collision so that will not be a problem in the greenhouse.

So my idea will work then?
I mean the part about leaving one plant and copying it and all that.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 11:34   #98
*PH*
Professor
 
*PH*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Germany/UK
Posts: 3,997
Default

Just seen the ingame doppelganger! OMG! The whole level looks so awesome
*PH* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 12:04   #99
Nausinous
Relic Hunter
 
Nausinous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: London
Posts: 8,315
Default

I still don't understand this, so you create rooms in NGLE and then edit them in Meta2tr but then how do you get Lara as that other character and all uv mapped? I'm so confused by it all.
Nausinous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-10, 12:19   #100
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,220
Default

You can use Meta to UVmap objects and room geometry.

As on how to do it, there's an entire website about how to do things with Meta2TR on the Meta2tr website.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 18:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.