www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Chronicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-21, 09:54   #121
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
Do you have the disc in your machine?
...Yes.
_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-21, 10:47   #122
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Seth View Post
...Yes.
Oh, wait. I was gonna say try taking it out but remembered how cd copies work. tomb5 has a no-cd patch applied, meaning it will NOT read things off your disc, rather it will try to read stuff from the installation folder. You need to copy necessary files off your disc to the installation folder. Iím away from my computer for the day but if you canít figure it out I will make a list of the necessary files for you when I get the chance
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-21, 11:54   #123
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
Oh, wait. I was gonna say try taking it out but remembered how cd copies work. tomb5 has a no-cd patch applied, meaning it will NOT read things off your disc, rather it will try to read stuff from the installation folder. You need to copy necessary files off your disc to the installation folder. Iím away from my computer for the day but if you canít figure it out I will make a list of the necessary files for you when I get the chance
Please do. I wouldn't have a clue what files to move.
_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-21, 21:33   #124
Kidd Bowyer
Student
 
Kidd Bowyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post

if you don't have anything useful to say you really don't have to say anything. If you don't care about TRC then why are you posting in this thread.
I think there might have been a language barrier issue here? From what I can see, kelvinsecolo meant that TRC is underrated, and doesn't tend to have a lot of fan projects related to it.
I'm pretty sure they still appreciate the work you're doing.
__________________
"If it's unique or exciting, I go after it."
Kidd Bowyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 00:04   #125
tomblover
Legend
 
tomblover's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 25,697
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Woops View Post
As for the animation, it's in the level file, not much I can do about it at this point
FWIW, the animation seems to be missing in at least one level - The 13th Floor, so far the only one I've noticed - so a toggle for this feature (in the interest of consistency) would be appreciated.
__________________
"Your interest really made stacks out of it for me, so thanks for that."
tomblover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 00:04   #126
Kirishima
Explorer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 646
Default

@_Seth

You need to copy these folders to your installation directory:

audio
data
fmv
screens

You also need to copy a couple of DAT files

SCRIPT.DAT
US.DAT - May have a different name like UK.DAT depending on the disc's region.
SINGLE.DAT - I'm not sure if this one's as important as the other 2, but copy it anyway.

The bink32.dll might need to be copied over if it's not already there.

Last edited by Kirishima; 05-12-21 at 00:08.
Kirishima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 00:07   #127
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Woops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
@_Seth

You need to copy these folders to your installation directory:

audio
data
fmv
screens

You also need to copy a couple of DAT files

SCRIPT.DAT
US.DAT - May have a different name like UK.DAT depending on the disc's region.
SINGLE.DAT - I'm not sure if this one's as important as the other 2, but copy it anyway.
Yes^ was about to post thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomblover View Post
FWIW, the animation seems to be missing in at least one level - The 13th Floor, so far the only one I've noticed - so a toggle for this feature (in the interest of consistency) would be appreciated.
tbh I like the glide

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kidd Bowyer View Post
I think there might have been a language barrier issue here? From what I can see, kelvinsecolo meant that TRC is underrated, and doesn't tend to have a lot of fan projects related to it.
I'm pretty sure they still appreciate the work you're doing.
maybe, I'm sorry if that was the case, I maybe did read it wrong :c
__________________
Call me Troye :)
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 01:31   #128
_Seth
Professor
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: England
Posts: 2,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirishima View Post
@_Seth

You need to copy these folders to your installation directory:

audio
data
fmv
screens

You also need to copy a couple of DAT files

SCRIPT.DAT
US.DAT - May have a different name like UK.DAT depending on the disc's region.
SINGLE.DAT - I'm not sure if this one's as important as the other 2, but copy it anyway.

The bink32.dll might need to be copied over if it's not already there.
Thanks, it works and looks great. As a bonus, there is no longer a brief pause when a music track plays.

Only issue:

_Seth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 02:01   #129
.snake.
Archaeologist
 
.snake.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,691
Default

"Ah, your favorite game once more comes back to haunt you Seth."







* * *

For real though: I would guess you have one of the incorrect .pak files in your TRC > Data folder. There should be a few .trc files and a few .pak files in there. One of the .pak files is the correct logo. For me the file is called "LOGO512.pak" even though I have the UK disk version and the GOG version. There are two other files called uslogo.pak and uklogo.pak that don't seem to work for me. So, check to see if you have the one I highlighted here.

Last edited by .snake.; 05-12-21 at 02:29.
.snake. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-21, 11:01   #130
ATombRaiderFan
Historian
 
ATombRaiderFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 416
Default

Hello, I've been trying out the cheats mentioned in this thread and "FILTHY" works. The "BITS" cheat doesn't seem to unlock special features in tomb5 for me, I've also followed the same steps using the steam exe and "BITS" worked, so maybe the cheat's been deactivated in tomb5?
ATombRaiderFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.