www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider II

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-10-21, 13:15   #1
The13thElysium
Hobbyist
 
The13thElysium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default Issues with Screen in TR2!

Hey all! I need a bit of help! Below is a link to some screens I took from my Steam copy of Tomb Raider 2!

As you can see, the colours are extremely posterized!!! Is there a fix for this? I am aware of a TR2 fix patch on Steam but my computer won't let me download it due to it being considered a virus! Is there anything else I can do to fix this? :O

https://vampire-moon.tumblr.com/post/665477871119302656
The13thElysium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-21, 14:15   #2
laravision
Archaeologist
 
laravision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 2,334
Default

It appears you're running in software mode. Run the setup and choose hardware acceleration. If you want to further improve your PC TR2 experience, I recommend Arsunt's TR2Main.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsunt View Post
Download the latest developer's build from this link.

First of all, there is the ExtraOptions folder. It contains REG files that change some TR2Main settings in the registry. All files are safe, you can check them using notepad. Just double click any REG file to set the desired option. In the future releases, this will be redesigned into a setup dialog which will incorporate all these settings.
Here are all the ExtraOptions descriptions.

If you use Steam or GOG, first cut all DLL files from the game folder and put them somewhere far away from the game. They may conflict with TR2Main somehow.

Copy some files from the TR2Main package into your game folder:
  • TR2Main.dll is the main file that makes all the magic.
  • tomb2.exe is almost original exe from 1997 with few changes to give all the power to TR2Main.dll. Never patch this EXE with 3rd party patches, you don't need them, everything that you may want, is already out of the box, including FOV, widescreen, even 4K support. Soon it will get external textures feature.
  • ffplay.dll is brand new FMV player based on ffmpeg project. It supports RPL, MP4, BIK and many other videoformats.
  • TR2Main.json is text configuration file that already allows to set custom watercolors, loading screen pictures, barefoot levels. All things are set to PS1 values, but anyone can edit it (by Notepad++ for example). This file will get even more cool features in the future.

Copy files from patch data folder to your TR2 game data folder:
  • barefoot.sfx is barefoot steps SFX pack. There are just 4 sound effects inside the pack, I took them from PS1 version, and remastered a little bit (high frequency range is restored). You must enable barefoot SFX by REG file if you want them.

Copy whole pix folder to your TR2 game folder. Its contents:
  • Full set of PCX pictures for the original game and The Golden Mask including US/UK logo. You can select the logo version by proper REG file. No need to rename or delete picture files.
  • Remastered loading screen pictures in PNG format. You must enable remastered pictures and/or loading screens by REG files if you want these features.

If you want to copy your old saves into TR2Main, create a saves subfolder in your TR2 game folder. Copy savegame.* files that you need to this folder. Making a save in-game will create this folder automatically.

For TR2 Gold: You can download the TR2 Gold expansion files from this link, then follow these instructions:

Copy some files from the Golden Mask data folder to your TR2 game data folder:
  • LEVEL1.TR2 - LEVEL5.TR2, but don't copy ASSAULT.TR2 and TITLE.TR2. The original game files will be used instead.
  • TOMBPC.DAT must be renamed to TOMBPCg.DAT before copying. The original game will still use its TOMBPC.DAT.
  • MAIN.SFX must be renamed to MAINg.SFX before copying. The original game will still use its MAIN.SFX.
  • You don't need to copy any PCX files, because PCX in data don't matter for TR2Main if pix folder is present.

savesGold subfolder required for placement of existing savegames. The game will create one if you make a save in-game.
  • To launch the normal game just run tomb2.exe
  • To launch setup dialog, run tomb2.exe with -setup option. You may want to create a shortcut for that.
  • To launch The Golden Mask, run tomb2.exe with -gold option. You may want to create a shortcut for that also.

To clarify the shortcut arrangement: first, create a shortcut of the Tomb2.exe file, then open the properties of this shortcut. At the end of the target/address field, add a space, then type -setup or -gold
Then you can name the shortcuts accordingly.



Setup advice: Disable Triple Buffer and keep Z-Buffer enabled if you want good performance.
You can use F7 for Z-Buffer and Shift+F7 for Triple Buffer to see the difference right in the game.
Upd: I have removed Triple Buffer option from TR2Main completely.
Here are all TR2 keyboard hotkeys.

For anyone who didn't follow my project, here is the changelog (you can see there many cool changes).
__________________
IronFistLaw75

Last edited by laravision; 19-10-21 at 14:21.
laravision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-21, 12:46   #3
The13thElysium
Hobbyist
 
The13thElysium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: UK
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by laravision View Post
It appears you're running in software mode. Run the setup and choose hardware acceleration. If you want to further improve your PC TR2 experience, I recommend Arsunt's TR2Main.
Oh thank you for you're help! Unfortunately, I don't seem to be able to select the "hardware acceleration"! Is there something I'm missing? :O
The13thElysium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-21, 12:07   #4
Arsunt
Historian
 
Arsunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The13thElysium View Post
Oh thank you for you're help! Unfortunately, I don't seem to be able to select the "hardware acceleration"! Is there something I'm missing? :O
Hit Shift+F12 in-game or make setup dialog shortcut to toggle Software/Hardware modes.

As for making the setup dialog, use the -setup parameter by creating a shortcut of the tomb2.exe. Then, open the properties of this shortcut and, at the end of the target field, add a space, then type -setup after the quote, so that it reads something like: "C:\Games\TR2\tomb2.exe" -setup
__________________
To seek. To learn. To do. (C) Quest for Glory
Arsunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-21, 11:59   #5
vasatomb
Historian
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Russia
Posts: 270
Default

Tr2main or not:
It looks like a bug with draw bridge. After triggering a bridge a bright light source appears somewhere near this place(left).
And is there a new tr2main build? If yes, then you can link please Arsunt

And i send message to you Arsunt on your mail week ago, but no answer.

Last edited by vasatomb; 09-12-21 at 18:13.
vasatomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.