www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Engine

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-09-22, 18:34   #261
SrDanielPonces
Tomb Raider
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Insanity
Posts: 10,099
Default

no idont think so, theres a CUST_FIX_WATER_BUG or whatever but it is not a life saver
SrDanielPonces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 18:37   #262
l.m.
Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iserlohn
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SrDanielPonces View Post
no idont think so, theres a CUST_FIX_WATER_BUG or whatever but it is not a life saver
CUST_FIX_WATER_BUG is from TRNG I believe ..
is there a pendant in TEN?
__________________
Greetings, :-) l.m. :-)
l.m. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 18:46   #263
l.m.
Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iserlohn
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
Yes, with Lua. Since very long ago, TE has room tags option. This data is written into TEN level file, so you can assign room tag "damageBig" or something, and then check in lua this: if Lara is in room with "damageBig" tag present, reduce her health by 10 points. Also you can then assign another tag, "damageSmall", and create another condition in lua, which will only reduce her health by 1 point if "damageSmall" tag is present.
I search this website for a reference of this condition "if Lara is in room with "XY" tag present" but I cant find it:

https://lwmte.github.io/

is there a complete reference of classes and methods for queries and statements in TEN? If so - where I can find it?
__________________
Greetings, :-) l.m. :-)

Last edited by l.m.; 26-09-22 at 19:06.
l.m. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 19:10   #264
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 3,669
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l.m. View Post
@Joey79100
I do not understand this: "Also the last one never really needed to be scripted, it can just be put as a State change in the landing animation (both in TRNG and TEN). "
Where can I put which state change? Can you give me an example how can reach that stumble anim without scripting?
  1. Open your LARA object in WadTool's animation editor.
  2. Find animation 24 (the name is FALL_LAND if I remember correctly)
  3. Open the State changes window. Here you can see all the other animations that can be called during this animation, depending on which state gets triggered.
  4. Add a new line: if the engine says that Lara has to run (because it has detected the player is pressing Up), you want to trigger your animation 460. But only during the first frame of the animation. So your line should have this information:
    • StateID: 1 (RUN)
    • Frame low: 0
    • Frame high: 1
    • Next animation: 460
    • Next frame: 0

Actually reading the script again you do miss I thing: it was not triggering the animation if there's a block in front. Here you won't have this extra check.
But I really think it's for the best, because this check means even if Lara has a bit of margin before the wall and she's angled a bit to the side, then the animation still won't trigger. I'd rather have Lara try to run and then run a bit against the wall than have her just wait as I'm holding the Up key.

Quote:
Originally Posted by l.m. View Post
https://lwmte.github.io/

is there a complete reference of classes and methods for queries and statements in TEN? If so - where I can find it?
The website you linked is the place actually.
But right now accessing room tags has not been implemented yet, but it's in the plans.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 19:33   #265
l.m.
Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iserlohn
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey79100 View Post
    • StateID: 1 (RUN)
    • Frame low: 0
    • Frame high: 1
    • Next animation: 460
    • Next frame: 0
Thanks I will try that.
I understand now that I can set different states for an animation, like this "run state" in a free fall.
But what means Low and High Frame? Why there is a 0 in Low and a 1 in high frame? Is there any tutorial for this?
__________________
Greetings, :-) l.m. :-)
l.m. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 19:46   #266
Joey79100
Professor
 
Joey79100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: France
Posts: 3,669
Default

There is the current state, which is assigned to the animation to tell the engine what Lara is doing, so it knows what she can do.
The engine sets the "next state" without overwriting the current state, and when it meets a state change for this "next state" then it will play the corresponding animation.

Low frame and end frame define during what time, in the current animation, the selected Next Animation can be triggered.
Joey79100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 20:56   #267
l.m.
Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iserlohn
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joey79100 View Post
Low frame and end frame define during what time, in the current animation, the selected Next Animation can be triggered.
Thanks.
If I understand correctly, is there a period of time where the next animation is triggered? So random? For example, there is an entry for STATE Death in Animation 24 "Freefall Land". It says low frame 0 and high frame 39. Does that mean the state for death (and then Anim 138) plays between frame 0 and frame 39 during the "Freefall Land" animation? So it can be, if the status "Death" occurs during the "Animation 24 Freefall Land" can the animation for it be triggered either in frame 0,1,2,3,4,5, ... 39?
__________________
Greetings, :-) l.m. :-)
l.m. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 21:09   #268
SrDanielPonces
Tomb Raider
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Insanity
Posts: 10,099
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by l.m. View Post
CUST_FIX_WATER_BUG is from TRNG I believe ..
is there a pendant in TEN?
oops i forgot this is TE thread sorry
SrDanielPonces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-22, 10:14   #269
MigMarado
Hobbyist
 
MigMarado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Braga, Portugal
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teone View Post
I'm playing Arms Race by JessG right now on Windows 10.
I installed vc_redistx86 then the game worked fine.

BUT... every time I close the game, I found a new AppCrash report in the Windows Error Reporting folder.



The exe crashes during the closing routine.
It doesn't show any message. I know it crashes only checking the report folder.

In the report I read what cause the crash is 'ucrtbase.dll'
I don't know more.
I've also identified this same exact issue.
__________________
I'm mostly elsewhere
MigMarado is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-22, 12:45   #270
l.m.
Historian
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Iserlohn
Posts: 399
Default

it would be nice if there will be 2 more functions to select moveables/ statics:

GetMoveablesBySlot(slot)

GetStaticsBySlot(slot)

with a table return - So we can iterate over the result and can change properties of a group of statics / moveables in one go.

I know I can write myself a table of statics / moveables, but it is annoying to select all of the placed items in TE and then build a table manually with the collected static / moveble ID's
__________________
Greetings, :-) l.m. :-)

Last edited by l.m.; 27-09-22 at 13:42.
l.m. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.