www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Modding

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-03-20, 20:53   #1
Lumberjack
Hobbyist
 
Lumberjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: France
Posts: 72
Default Is there a way to disable the transitions before the cutscenes or the level start ?

Hello

I just wanted to ask a stupid question : with the PC version of Tomb Raider III, is there a way to disable the fades when a cutscene begins and before a level starts ?

To understand what I'm talking about, see these pictures :





If I ask this question, it's because I would like to capture some of these cutscenes with Fraps, but it would be better without these transitions

It's strange, because these fades don't exist on the PS1 version.


Thanks for your help !

Last edited by Lumberjack; 04-04-20 at 17:27. Reason: Images posted on Imgur
Lumberjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-20, 22:04   #2
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 6,176
Default

The most seamless way to do this would be to make dummy level files of Lara in a black room - hitting the finish trigger (as if it was a normal level transitioning into a cutscene). You'll then get a "black" fade to cutscene. This could be applied to every level that has a cutscene after it
__________________
Australian, Japanese speaking TR addict.
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-20, 22:48   #3
Lumberjack
Hobbyist
 
Lumberjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: France
Posts: 72
Default

Thank you for your answer !

But I'm not sure that I understood what you said Sorry.

Did you think in a level editor ?

In fact, I had a similar idea : to replace the images in the "pix" folder by black images. But it's only if I haven't another solution

It would be better if I could have no fade, like the PS1 version.

Last edited by Lumberjack; 29-03-20 at 22:54.
Lumberjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-20, 00:32   #4
mizuno_suisei
Relic Hunter
 
mizuno_suisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 6,176
Default

Ah yes that's what I mean aswell. Change the pix images to be completely black- that will help for some cutscenes.

A better explanation of my other idea though.
For example -

JUNGLE.tr2 is the first level (India) before the cutscene where Lara meets Crazy Tony.

Create a completely new level - place Lara in the middle make all the walls BLACK. place a finish level trigger somewhere. Overwrite Jungle.tr2.

Load it - instead of the original level, Lara will be alone in a black room. Step on finish trigger to trigger cutscene. You will have a BLACK>CUTSCENE fade instead of a GAMEPLAY>CUTSCENE fade. It's not optimal but it's your only option.

I wouldn't bother repeating about the PSX thing lol. The engines are completely different.

You COULD use epsxe at max settings?
__________________
Australian, Japanese speaking TR addict.
mizuno_suisei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-20, 08:08   #5
Lumberjack
Hobbyist
 
Lumberjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: France
Posts: 72
Default

I understand now. Your idea is good !

I prefer to stay on the PC version, more cute !

Last edited by Lumberjack; 30-03-20 at 08:30.
Lumberjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.