www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-18, 09:39   #1921
Boobandie
Professor
 
Boobandie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,541
Default

Fantastic update. I'm playing around with the new build now.

Is the Light/Transform effect bugged? Both 'Movement' and 'Glow and Movement' add dynamic rippling glow to the tiles. Can you get movement with no glow whatsoever?
Boobandie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-18, 09:44   #1922
Lwmte
Explorer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boobandie View Post
Fantastic update. I'm playing around with the new build now.

Is the Light/Transform effect bugged? Both 'Movement' and 'Glow and Movement' add dynamic rippling glow to the tiles. Can you get movement with no glow whatsoever?
Unfortunately no, "movement without glow" effect is not available in TR4 engine. "Movement" will get you subtle glow, although not that intense as with "Glow" option. As for "movement without glow", there is vertex flag for such option (bit 15) described in TRS3, but it has no effect on vertices. I think it was only available in TR3.

Also note that in "glow & movement" mode movement will cancel out glow somehow, so actual bright glow will be primarily visible on room borders, where movement effect cancels out istead.

P.S.: I don't remember who asked automatic increment of flyby camera index dependent on currently selected one, now I also fixed it along with that quicksand issue. If you have selected flyby cam and creating new one, new camera will have same sequence ID and auto-assigned index. You can even insert new flyby cams into the middle of the sequence this way, without manually re-typing indices for remaining next cameras. These will be rearranged automatically. Currently this feature only exists in this latest "barebones package" provided in my previous message.

Last edited by Lwmte; 05-12-18 at 09:49.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-18, 19:13   #1923
vasatomb
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Default

how to create 2 sector trapdoor like in tr1 obelisk level?
vasatomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-18, 20:52   #1924
LGG_PRODUCTION
Explorer
 
LGG_PRODUCTION's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Use it as TRAPDOOR1 and an invisible one as TRAPDOOR2
__________________
I hope in some good news about TRNG!
LGG_PRODUCTION is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-18, 23:05   #1925
vasatomb
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 13
Default

thanks.
vasatomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-18, 23:14   #1926
LaraCablara
Professor
 
LaraCablara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,032
Default

So I have been fooling around with this and it is a learning curve but overall I think everything is MILES ahead of the old editor. My only real trouble has been with texturing though . Thank you for letting us scroll through the textures with the mouse wheel, but what do we press to zoom in and out now? It would be handy to have some sort of reset view button for the textures. Also, is there an option to select parts of textures like in the old editor with the right click, but incrementally? Its cool that we can select as much as we want and eve form triangles and trapezoids, but it is hard to consistently get two clicks worth of a texture.

The last thing I cant figure out is how to texture a triangular part of the floor as one tile. In the old editor, I think you could hold alt and texture it as one piece, and then hold alt shift to rotate the entire thing. Here, it will only rotate part of the triangle.
LaraCablara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-18, 10:34   #1927
Lwmte
Explorer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LaraCablara View Post
what do we press to zoom in and out now?
You can either push page up/page down while mouse cursor is hovering over texture panel, or hold ctrl and drag mouse with holding right mouse button.

Quote:
Also, is there an option to select parts of textures like in the old editor with the right click, but incrementally?
Sure, just hold shift and then left click and drag in texture map, selected area will be clamped to 16x16px zones.

Quote:
The last thing I cant figure out is how to texture a triangular part of the floor as one tile. In the old editor, I think you could hold alt and texture it as one piece, and then hold alt shift to rotate the entire thing.
Hold ctrl+shift and click, this will rotate whole floor/ceiling tile. However, there's no way of texturing whole tile with single click, but I don't think it's major feature that can cripple workflow compared to winroomedit.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-18, 22:04   #1928
TifaNazah
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 2
Default

After many years (it was a long break) I had the feeling I might like to try to build something - but i am unsure if i should try this new Editor or the NGLE (which I always had problems to install and never used therefore before)


Any help? What are the differences?
TifaNazah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-18, 09:42   #1929
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 11,256
Default

^ Definitely go for Tomb Editor then. NGLE is pretty much a broken tool these days and while you might try to use it, it is a chore just to make it work properly.

Tomb Editor is still relatively new so it does share and amount of problems NGLE lacks, but it is constantly being updated and it is already a powerful tool able to create complex levels. It also adds features that are not present/possible in TRLE/NGLE, such as diagonal walls or fully seamless textures (TRLE crops sides). It also allows far better texturing that gets rid of seams/stretching completely + you can easily stretch one texture onto several polys/segments (especially useful for wall gables).
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-18, 10:48   #1930
Dustie
Relic Hunter
 
Dustie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 8,254
Default

If you had issues with NGLE before then TE should be a lot easier to set up, but you will still need TRNG installed if you want to build levels for TRNG. Also, I believe there is no tool currently which can compile scripts (unless you want to run the old script.exe tool in DosBox) other than NG Center, so TE is still partially reliant on the TRNG package. Hopefully this will change soon
Dustie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.