23-08-18, 13:31 | #561 | |||||
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
|
Quote:
ASCII doesn't have native support of axis and SMD doesn't have support of more than 1 uv channel. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I illustrated bone axis (directions) bellow: here's how axis looks if I open jensen model with your (0.9.4) version of script: [IMG]https://media.*******app.net/attachments/315940320107823104/482175432238825472/unknown.png?width=745&height=588[/IMG] and here's how axis looks when I open same model with modified script from daemon: [IMG]https://media.*******app.net/attachments/315940320107823104/482174525912383493/unknown.png?width=745&height=594[/IMG] as you can see your version ignores axis which I'm actually after. p.s.: blender is a good tool, but it's hard for me to fully understand it or use it for fix/convert models — my field is a 3ds max |
|||||
27-08-18, 12:43 | #562 | ||
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,226
|
He has modified my own script, without asking me. And he has messed everything. He has even removed the whole part to export a model as .mesh.ascii
Quote:
Bone axis You learn quickly. Quote:
- My original script set the bone orientaion as global mode. - The daemon has tried to set it to local mode. But he has messed everything. Now, after you know how to visualize the orientation, take a closer look at the directions: - In "Global mode", the blue Z-axis always point upwards. My script makes it correct. - In "Local Mode", the blue Z-axis always points in the direction of the bone. The demon script does it wrong. Totally random: GROUND bone, almost right http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...291-ground.jpg calf bone, 90° false rotated http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...70291-calf.jpg foot bone, 2 times 90° wrong. Look also at the red arrow. http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...70294-foot.jpg elbow bone, incorrect http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...0294-elbow.jpg hand bone, just wrong http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...70294-hand.jpg finger bone, random direction http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...294-finger.jpg head bone, just a mess http://image.noelshack.com/fichiers/...70320-head.jpg ... ... --> The daemon format holds not everything you need. It only contains garbage data. Multiple UV channel More than 1 uv channel are supported by .mesh.ascii since the first version. If I remeber right, the first model was Laras Yacht by Dusan himself http://www.mediafire.com/file/mwakzz...Yacht.zip/file Shader code. Code:
VertexShaderOutput output; float4x4 WorldViewProjection = mul(mul(World, View), Projection); float3x3 World3x3 = (float3x3)World; output.Position = mul(mul(input.Position, RootMatrix), WorldViewProjection); output.TexCoord1 = input.TexCoord1; output.TexCoord2 = input.TexCoord2; float3 normal3 = (float3)input.Normal; output.WorldNormal = normalize(mul(normal3, World3x3)); return output; Code:
uvList.append(uv) uvList2.append(uv2) uvList3.append(uv3) uvList4.append(uv4) He also did not understand what causes this UV layer. A UV layer points to a Material (to a xy coordinate from a texture image). That is why it is called TexCoord2 (Texture coordinate 2) in the shader code. He pass no informations to noesis about the matching material. Even worse, he already sets this "Material" information to null in the ascii file! Code:
sm_0 1 0 9179 -0.570395 -0.026418 1.152765 -0.063099 -0.228607 -0.971472 0 0 0 255 0.016275 0.297107 257 5 5 5 1 0 0 0 No wonder noesis throws a NULL pointer exception when you try to export this data as an FBX, for example. --> The daemon format holds not everything you need. It only contains garbage data. Thanks for this good BUG report. I will fix it in version 0.9.6 Last edited by XNAaraL; 27-08-18 at 12:55. |
||
27-08-18, 18:53 | #563 | ||
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
|
Quote:
Quote:
edit: also we found that broken bone axis caused by noesis bug. everything working fine for me in noesis v4231 Last edited by Tosyk; 27-08-18 at 19:50. |
||
28-08-18, 05:08 | #564 | |
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,226
|
daemon faslehood
This is my last comment on this issue. I am so tired of this demon spread here such a lot of falsehoods; although I provide here verifiable evidence.
This statement is false. Wrong information given by you. True is: The Reference Coordinate System list lets you specify the coordinate system used for a transformation (Move, Rotate, and Scale). Options include View, Screen, World, Parent, Local, Gimbal, Grid, Working, and Pick. World (Global) Uses the world coordinate system. Seen from the front:
Autodesk Reference: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...B07E3-htm.html Quote:
True is: The demon model data are corrupt. The demonic "Noesis plugin" is corrupt. Correct models looks like Local uses an individual coordinate system specific to each object. Z align with the bone axis Noesis reference http://www.richwhitehouse.com/filemi...oesisv4231.zip Autodesk reference https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...07164-htm.html EOT Last edited by XNAaraL; 28-08-18 at 05:42. |
|
28-08-18, 11:05 | #565 |
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
|
why my message was deleted? I only share the solution
here's it: I discovered that after Autodesk FBX export plugin for noesis been updated to FBX SDK 2017.1 (from noesis version 4.24) it produces a bug which causes this broken bone axis rotations. Old 2014-based plugin is in "optionalplugins" dir of noesis main folder and it's called autodesk_fbx_2014.dll. So to get bone axis rotations from original game (from any game that daemon made tools for) models use <attached> modified script to open ASCII files and then export to FBX with Old 2014-based plugin. p.s.: XNAaraL, I'm sure you're good mathematician but to be able to evolve in any kind of things a technology, mind and personality must be flexible. <attachment>: ask me for the script, XNAaraL doesn't allow to post it here by reports to the moderator. Last edited by Tosyk; 29-08-18 at 07:08. Reason: restored original post |
29-08-18, 09:59 | #566 |
Inactive
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 16,788
|
Since I was just dragged into this (via a private message), I'd just like to say:
Also, settling technical disputes (if it even is one, I honestly can't tell) by calling mods and invoking copyright claims? Well, okay, I don't want to offend anyone about how they choose to regulate access to their work. But I will say that GLLara is open source (GPL v2 or later) and will remain open source, and if you make a fork of it and do something differently, maybe even screw it up, that is 100% all right with me. Personally I think this is the most useful way to develop non-commercial tools for fans, and I don't really understand why so many people see things differently, but again, I don't want to criticise anyone. Just please don't drag me into this. |
29-08-18, 14:34 | #567 | ||
Member
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 11
|
hello, not sure why you need to be dragged in and who you actually are
basically I asked If anyone could modify maxscript to load ASCII with 'additional data' in it and XNAaraL answer by calling this data "wrong", my talk is BS and both me and my friend are idiots Quote:
Quote:
p.s.: a friend of mine - daemon - creating tools to convert models from games. he choosed ASCII format to hold mesh, skeleton and - what's more important - multiple uv channels and local bone axis rotations (as 'additional data'). so after he expanded ASCII format he modified XNAaraL's ASCII noesis script to load that 'additional data'. I shared that script here and my post was deleted. |
||
28-01-19, 14:17 | #568 |
Member
Joined: Aug 2018
Posts: 5
|
I've encountered a problem with this script:
Using 3DSMax7 here and when loading up the script I get the error message that the script isn't compatible to my version of 3DSMax. When trying to export the model into XPS (.mesh.ascii), it simply doesn't work. Now I've read in the opening post from here that the script is comptaible to all Max versions since 3DSMax8. Question from me is: Does a Max8 installation exist somewhere on the internet for everyone to download? |
29-01-19, 06:03 | #569 | |
Member
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,226
|
Getting a copy of an older version of Max
Quote:
The opening post do not claim that is comptaible to all Max versions since 3DSMax8 Of course, I read also: Google is your friend. Autodesk only supports a few versions back officially. Is there any way to download 3ds max 2012? : 3dsmax - Reddit Autodesks Virtual Assistant. Solved: Download old versions of 3ds Max - Autodesk Community- 3ds ... You can also try: 3ds-max free trial BTW: Dependent on your goal, there are uncomplicated alternatives to the maxscript. (Viele Wege führen nach Rom) How to load a GenericItem.mesh.ascii model (XNALara/XPS) in 3ds max 7 ?
Last edited by XNAaraL; 29-01-19 at 06:59. |
|
24-11-23, 18:40 | #570 |
Member
Joined: Nov 2023
Posts: 1
|
Whenever I try to export a model as a mesh.ascii file the program freezes. Do you have any idea what is going on?
|
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
|
|