www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-02-18, 15:32   #821
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcintosh View Post
Add:
...Is there by any chance something that possibly could be changed/adjusted somewhere.
oops late reply, sorry
hadn't noticed your add yet

this might be hopefully addressed editing the dosbox*.conf files you'll find in the \tombraider folders
there's a cycles= entry there (you may want to browse the dosbox readme for this:
CPU Cycles (speed up/slow down).....You can force the slow or fast behavior by setting a fixed amount of cycles in the DOSBox's configuration file etc.)

I modified the default there with a view to optimizing it of course, but you can try it out yourself as it's kind of a typical per machine setting
anywhere in the range 10,000 to 200,000+ can be reasonably set, but as you crank it up you'll soon come to notice that the higher [not always] the better
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 25-02-18 at 15:34.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-18, 00:39   #822
wmcintosh
Historian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 474
Default

Thank you, changed to max, still somewhat sluggish, but not anywhere near what it was.

Going to try other numbers and see what happens.
wmcintosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-18, 16:55   #823
Opaque79
Archaeologist
 
Opaque79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,044
Default

Anyone know the reason for the removal of the double CD check? As in no physical TR1 disc needs to be in the drive for the game to run. How does this work?
Opaque79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-18, 20:14   #824
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,523
Default

Check your PM box
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-18, 17:13   #825
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,523
Default

Very minor maintenance work and v1.7.7.1 becomes 1.7.7.2
(see updated link in original post on page 1)

just to prevent some recurring false positive flags raised by Windows Defender (but not eg by Avast nor Malwarebytes tools) I reviewed and changed as seemed fit the procedures involved in some batch conversions taking place long before runtime.
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.

Last edited by gidierre; 12-10-18 at 17:34.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-18, 17:28   #826
tlr online
Administrator
 
tlr online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 56,589
Default

Thank you very much for your work gidierre.
tlr online is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-18, 05:57   #827
tlr online
Administrator
 
tlr online's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 56,589
Default

Bunch of posts removed. This thread is for gidierre's project.
tlr online is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-19, 19:19   #828
Zynkel
Hobbyist
 
Zynkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 23
Default

Hi,

I installed the TR1/UB 1.7.7 but when i'm going to play i have a error that says: "Windows cannot found dosbox"

I tried to look the config files searching some path incorrect but nothing.

Thanks in advance, congrathulations for your job.

Regards
Zynkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-19, 11:35   #829
gidierre
Grease Monkey
 
gidierre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zynkel View Post
error that says: "Windows cannot found dosbox"
really strange since dosbox (the exe) is delivered by the installer's own routine so it can't be missed
to begin with I'd go uninstall all of it (via control panel or start menu) and then make sure the whole c:\tombraider folder is gone
then reinstall from scratch
this happening again, please specifiy when the error shows possibly with a screenshot
do you happen to have dosbox already installed elsewhere on your own? that shouldn't really matter anyway but you never know..
__________________
We often forgive those who bore us--we cannot forgive those who find us boring.
gidierre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-19, 18:29   #830
Zynkel
Hobbyist
 
Zynkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Málaga, Spain
Posts: 23
Default

I'm still having the issue.

I uninstalled all then i installed TR1(Steam version) and then the Installer. I'm installing all in D:\ drive because i prefer have it in the HD

I leave a screen with the message that appears when execute Tomb Raider 1.exe

https://imgur.com/a/8anckkG
Zynkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.