www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Underworld

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-09-20, 23:01   #1
jay2
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Default Please help install TRU

Its saying it detects underworld is already installed on this machine.
It was once a very long time ago but i have removed any trace of that previous installation.
I have gone thru every drive and searched for anything tru related and deleted it, but still no joy.

Please help

Thanks
jay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-20, 05:03   #2
ANoDE
Golden
 
ANoDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 5,577
Default

Hi,

which version are you trying to install?
Disc-based? Steam? GoG?

Did you properly uninstall it last time, or did you simply delete the folder? The latter one is generally dangerous, as it will keep the registry entries, making your computer believe the program is still there, even if it isn't.

How good are you with computers?
You could try to remove the registry entries related to Underworld manually, but that can be a bit tricky/dangerous if you don't know what you are doing.
__________________
🎶 ~ Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed ~ 🎶
ANoDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-20, 18:28   #3
jay2
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Hi ANode its an iso ripped from a dvd.

I honstly cant remember how the original isntallation was deleted.
Im fairly clued up computer wise so i dont mind using regedit if i know what im looking for.
jay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-20, 19:23   #4
ANoDE
Golden
 
ANoDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 5,577
Default

I'm hoping that that ISO was ripped legally (i.e. by yourself from your own copy, because this forum does in no way tolerate piracy).

Underworld's Registry Path would be:
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Crystal Dynamics\Tomb Raider: Underworld
Maybe the existence of this key is checked by the installer (I don't have the disc version at hand, so I can't check).
Maybe renaming / removing this key can resolve your issue?

Other than that, you simply might want to check for occurrences of "Underworld" in the registry (or TR8/TRU) and check, if they have to do something with Tomb Raider: Underworld and take appropriate action.

Disclaimer: Editing the registry is dangerous and you'll be doing this at your own risk. Make a backup of your registry / computer before fiddling with it.
__________________
🎶 ~ Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed ~ 🎶
ANoDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-20, 22:45   #5
jay2
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Default

All above board , my dvd ripped on my wifes laptop so i can install on my system(no optical drive).

Ok, bingo there is a sub folder for underworld inside the crystal dynamics folder.
There are two sub folders inside the tru folder...Graphics, and Input.
Is it as simple as right clicking-delete the tomb raider:underworld folder?

Last edited by jay2; 30-09-20 at 22:48.
jay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-20, 16:49   #6
Bridge
Historian
 
Bridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: In Irrelevant People’s Heads
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ANoDE View Post
Hi,

which version are you trying to install?
Disc-based? Steam? GoG?
Did TRU recently go on GoG?
__________________
A small regret you won't forget, there'll be no sleep in here tonight.
Bridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-20, 17:39   #7
ANoDE
Golden
 
ANoDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 5,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay2 View Post
All above board , my dvd ripped on my wifes laptop so i can install on my system(no optical drive).

Ok, bingo there is a sub folder for underworld inside the crystal dynamics folder.
There are two sub folders inside the tru folder...Graphics, and Input.
Is it as simple as right clicking-delete the tomb raider:underworld folder?
Yeah, this should do the trick. No guarantees though, I'm afraid.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bridge View Post
Did TRU recently go on GoG?
Sorry, I simply assumed the LAU games were also on GOG. I haven't checked if that is the case actually.
__________________
🎶 ~ Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed ~ 🎶
ANoDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-20, 23:28   #8
jay2
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Default

Grrrrrrrrrr still no joy

I cannot find any more reference to tru anywhere.

Any more ideas?
jay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-20, 16:25   #9
ANoDE
Golden
 
ANoDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Austria
Posts: 5,577
Default

Can you post a screenshot of the error message? Maybe that helps identifying the problem...
__________________
🎶 ~ Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed ~ 🎶
ANoDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-20, 11:12   #10
jay2
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 9
Default

This is the message that comes up after running setup......

"Setup has detected that Tomb Raider: Underworld is already Installed
on this Machine.

Please uninstall it before running setup again."
jay2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.