www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Level Editor and Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Software Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-02-23, 08:25   #121
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 12,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
I already answered your question in my previous post
Lwmte, Titak is confused because ChocolateFan said something that can be understood as a direct negation of your statement. By "Level Editor" ChocolateFan means a level editor, meanwhile Titak probably understood Level Editor as the Level Editor, known in the community as winroomedit/ngle.

Titak, the rainbow lighting bug only appears in Tomb Editor, therefore the fix only works with the levels made with Tomb Editor.

The rainbow lighting effect happens because Tomb Editor internally uses 32-bit colours for vertex lighting, but original Tomb Raider engine uses only 16-bit lighting, so the editor converts 32-bit lighting to 16-bit while compiling level. This conversion causes precision loss, which appears as a rainbow/oily lighting in the level.

This bug is not present in original winroomedit.exe and ngle.exe because they work with 16-bit lighting already, so there's no conversion/precision loss present.

Now what FLEP patch does is it makes it possible to use 32-bit lighting in Tomb Raider itself. When you apply it and enable 32-bit lighting option in Tomb Editor, there's no conversion happening, so there's no lighting bug.

Long story short, this patch fixes a very old Tomb Editor issue, but it doesn't in any way enhance lighting in winroomedit/ngle.

Last edited by Caesum; 07-02-23 at 08:36.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-23, 10:56   #122
Ruu11
Archaeologist
 
Ruu11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,051
Default

Wait... The random colored lights thing is finally FIXED???????????
This is a moment in TRLE history omg thank you so much Chocolate, you're a legend!!
Ruu11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-23, 15:56   #123
Lwmte
Archaeologist
 
Lwmte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caesum View Post
Long story short, this patch fixes a very old Tomb Editor issue, but it doesn't in any way enhance lighting in winroomedit/ngle.
Caesum, I have to disagree with you. Choco's patch does not fix any Tomb Editor issue, because there was no issue in the first place in Tomb Editor. The issue was in tomb4 engine, which only supported 16-bit lighting - it doesn't matter if level is compiled with winroomedit or TE.

For your information, for the last 2 years or so, TE already shows correct lighting output consistent with 16-bit depth of tomb4, if game version is set to it. Also I am afraid it wasn't addressed by Choco in her changes to TE, so current version of Tomb Editor still shows 16-bit lighting in 3D view, when you are working on a tomb4 target.
Lwmte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-23, 17:39   #124
ChocolateFan
Explorer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: I am female
Posts: 509
Default

winroomedit.exe and ngle.exe also use 32-bit lighting internally:
Code:
byte lightR = reader.ReadByte();
byte lightG = reader.ReadByte();
byte lightB = reader.ReadByte();
byte lightOn = reader.ReadByte();
Link to the code: https://github.com/MontyTRC89/Tomb-E...Loader.cs#L534.
ChocolateFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-23, 18:12   #125
Caesum
Tomb Raider
 
Caesum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland, Warsaw Gender: Male
Posts: 12,047
Default

Ah okay so winroomedit just handles 32-bit to 16-bit lighting thing better. Either way the patch is only for TE since it has an option to compile levels with 32-bit lighting instead of hammering it down to 16-bit, right? If yes then my point still stands.

Last edited by Caesum; 07-02-23 at 18:14.
Caesum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-23, 17:24   #126
Verner Fon Cro
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 23
Default

Hi, I was fiddling with the new blending modes and noticed something:
if I use the new blending mode n°5 (source inversion mode), the maximum black I can get is the same black as Lara's shadow



which is cool enough, but when I try to use it with the footprints gives me dull results, because the black isn't dark enough.

Even using custom blend modes, there's no way to ged a darker black, no matter what.

I also noticed that when two footprints overlap, they add their colors on top of each other.

My question is: is it possible to change the new blending modes patch adding a new blending with darker shadows? (i.e. adding two source inversions or multiplying one?)
Verner Fon Cro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-23, 19:43   #127
ChocolateFan
Explorer
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: I am female
Posts: 509
Default

Latest version: first post.

Fixed patches:
  • Fast alignment
New patches:
  • Fix dying flare colours
  • Rotate debris
  • Pushable Object alignment
  • Wibble rooms
  • tomb4 circle shadow
New commands:
  • Lift doors
ChocolateFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-23, 08:27   #128
Verner Fon Cro
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChocolateFan View Post
Latest version: first post.

Fixed patches:
  • Fast alignment
New patches:
  • Fix dying flare colours
  • Rotate debris
  • Pushable Object alignment
  • Wibble rooms
  • tomb4 circle shadow
New commands:
  • Lift doors
THIS IS INCREDIBLE!! Thank you Chocolatefan, you're an angel
Verner Fon Cro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-23, 16:51   #129
PedroTheGamer
Archaeologist
 
PedroTheGamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChocolateFan View Post
Latest version: first post.

Fixed patches:
  • Fast alignment
New patches:
  • Fix dying flare colours
  • Rotate debris
  • Pushable Object alignment
  • Wibble rooms
  • tomb4 circle shadow
New commands:
  • Lift doors
thank you so much about the pushblock,Fast alignment and crazy flare dying..lift Doors yaay i was making a VCI this is all i needed
__________________
''dare to come down to me,Yeah,That's right! let's dance!.''

Last edited by PedroTheGamer; 23-02-23 at 16:52.
PedroTheGamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-23, 13:27   #130
Delca
Historian
 
Delca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: France
Posts: 298
Default

Thank you for all the great patches.

A suggestion~ would it be possible to port tomb4's Gameover menu to trng?

__________________
Slightly confused
Delca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.