www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Legend

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-19, 18:11   #1
mp108
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 11
Default trl crashes at kazakhstan level

If I play at maximum display settings, with 'next generation content' enabled, the game crashes - seems to have started once I have reached the Kazakhstan level, pretty sure was running fine before.

I have two gtx 560 in sli.

It's not the end of the world as I can continue by turning the above option off but ideally would like it on.

any ideas?
mp108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-19, 18:28   #2
New Dwight
Professor
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,718
Default

iirc, there was a patch on the .exe that fixed the infamous Kazakhstan crash.
Also the crash could happen also in England & Nepal.
https://steamcommunity.com/app/7000/...9742648003342/
__________________
admin deactivated account
New Dwight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-19, 23:39   #3
Boobandie
Professor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,000
Default

And Angel of Darkness gets panned for being unfinished. Legend's Next Gen mode is a graphically buggy mess with some levels completely unplayable.

Fans have since fixed it but apparently this was acceptable in a released game.
Boobandie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-19, 13:14   #4
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TX
Posts: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boobandie View Post
And Angel of Darkness gets panned for being unfinished. Legend's Next Gen mode is a graphically buggy mess with some levels completely unplayable.

Fans have since fixed it but apparently this was acceptable in a released game.
Thing is AoD as a whole is a buggy piece of **** that's why it gets called "unfinished"
Sure Legend has it's bugs and glitches but comparing it to something as buggy as AoD is just unfair and unnecessary here.
--

I had the same crash in Kazakhstan, I just disabled next gen until I finished it, then turned it back on.
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-19, 23:21   #5
Boobandie
Professor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4,000
Default

Legend has a full game crash you-can-never-play-this-level glitch. Angel of Darkness can get some visual glitches and occasionally crash but you can still play the whole game.
Boobandie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-19, 07:42   #6
Sir Launcelot
Relic Hunter
 
Sir Launcelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Slumped in front of my PC
Posts: 6,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boobandie View Post
Legend has a full game crash you-can-never-play-this-level glitch. Angel of Darkness can get some visual glitches and occasionally crash but you can still play the whole game.
No, you can play the whole game with original gfx and it never crashes (which I always did, since Lara seems to look better in that version).

AoD does not offer you both a "good" version and a "****ed-up" version, you have to wade through its buggy crap no matter what. It's mandatory.

Making that comparison is sort of the same as complaining that TR2013 runs like a dog when you turn on all the video options with your integrated graphics card.
__________________
Fancy dropping down for a chat, then?

Last edited by Sir Launcelot; 05-05-19 at 07:43.
Sir Launcelot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-19, 11:31   #7
Woops
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TX
Posts: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boobandie View Post
Legend has a full game crash you-can-never-play-this-level glitch. Angel of Darkness can get some visual glitches and occasionally crash but you can still play the whole game.
Mate if we start listing AoD's softlocks and glitches and crashes we'll be here till June.
Woops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-19, 21:49   #8
jajay119
Tomb Raider
 
jajay119's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21,013
Default

Turn off the next gen effects until you're on the train and you're fine.
__________________
... in my opinion.
jajay119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-19, 17:30   #9
Maverin
Archaeologist
 
Maverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,585
Default

Honestly, it's a way better experience to play through the whole game with next-gen turned off.

There are so many graphical glitches with next-gen. For example: the plants flicker in the Tokyo building, almost everything looks shiny (especially Lara), the water is already running in Ghana before activating the system behind it, the floor is transparant in sections of Kazakhstan, the city sky is missing in Tokyo, the waterfalls in Ghana have lightning issues, etc. + it also darkens the game a lot. It's really not worth it in my opinion.
__________________
Remember
Maverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-19, 00:07   #10
Sir Launcelot
Relic Hunter
 
Sir Launcelot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Slumped in front of my PC
Posts: 6,797
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverin View Post
Honestly, it's a way better experience to play through the whole game with next-gen turned off.

There are so many graphical glitches with next-gen. For example: the plants flicker in the Tokyo building, almost everything looks shiny (especially Lara), the water is already running in Ghana before activating the system behind it, the floor is transparant in sections of Kazakhstan, the city sky is missing in Tokyo, the waterfalls in Ghana have lightning issues, etc. + it also darkens the game a lot. It's really not worth it in my opinion.
Yes. Lara especially looks strange to me with next-gen turned on. Underground parts of the King Arthur level look like **** too.
__________________
Fancy dropping down for a chat, then?
Sir Launcelot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 15:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.