www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-09-22, 21:48   #1
Galleta
Hobbyist
 
Galleta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default No visibility from distance

Well, I have another newbie problem that need fixing so I can continue building. I have large areas where I can't see the walls from the distance and only appear if I get closer to them and the horizon appear in front of them instead of behind. I don't know the exact terminology you people use here and the barrier of the language is a problem to me, so I hope the images can help to explain myself correctly.





As I said, I'm a complete beginner, so I would appreciate if somebody could help me and explain it to me like I'm five years old.
Galleta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 16:23   #2
LCEF (CA)
Archaeologist
 
LCEF (CA)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: France
Posts: 1,074
Default

It's normal, the distance is limited to 20 sectors in old engine.

If you are using TRNG, you can change that distance in the SCRIPT.txt in TIDE with that command

WorldFarView =

and set the view distance you want (in sector, so by default is 20)
Just simply write it in the [Option] section and compile your script using TIDE.


If you are using only de TR4 engine, I don't think there is a way to change that, but a thing you can do is using an Horizon object with black borders (like TR2/TR3 horizon objects) to have a "full black" view without any cliping of the boundary of the view.
LCEF (CA) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 16:33   #3
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,763
Default

In fact, there is another workaround solution for non-TRNG engines:
if you build something close in the view (like a big column), which is an obstacle to see anything too far.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 17:42   #4
Galleta
Hobbyist
 
Galleta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default

It works! Thank you so much, finally I can continue building.
Galleta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 17:44   #5
Galleta
Hobbyist
 
Galleta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Editing for double post.

Last edited by Galleta; 26-09-22 at 20:04.
Galleta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 18:40   #6
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,763
Default

Hi, Galleta!
I am happy you could solve it.
But please do not send another post in 2 minutes. This is called double-posting, and not appreciated here. Please use the Edit button instead in your previous post. Or wait till someone answers your first post.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-22, 19:57   #7
Galleta
Hobbyist
 
Galleta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkyV View Post
Hi, Galleta!
I am happy you could solve it.
But please do not send another post in 2 minutes. This is called double-posting, and not appreciated here. Please use the Edit button instead in your previous post. Or wait till someone answers your first post.

Oh, I'm sorry. This forum is a bit weird to use, it's not very user friendly. I just wanted to answer to each one just below their post, not posting one after the other as I expected this forum worked like the others ones. My bad, I should have used the preview post button before.
Galleta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.