www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tomb Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-21, 20:01   #411
PedroTheGamer
Explorer
 
PedroTheGamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 886
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lwmte View Post
PedroTheGamer should check whether he uses latest WT version.
Im using lasted version I always update when newest is released
__________________
"Never felt so unimportant,Everything I've ever said has been taken in vain"
PedroTheGamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-22, 19:41   #412
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 33,148
Question

Is it possible to somehow export an animation that was made for use in WadTool (.anim file) so it can be used in WADMerger Animation Editor?

I'll be fine with being able to export it to a format that can be opened in 3D Max, like fbx or 3ds.

I noticed WadTool is able to import fbx files but is not able to export them?
Or am I overlooking something?
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-22, 20:12   #413
SrDanielPonces
Relic Hunter
 
SrDanielPonces's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Run the Gauntlet
Posts: 9,912
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
Is it possible to somehow export an animation that was made for use in WadTool (.anim file) so it can be used in WADMerger Animation Editor?

I'll be fine with being able to export it to a format that can be opened in 3D Max, like fbx or 3ds.

I noticed WadTool is able to import fbx files but is not able to export them?
Or am I overlooking something?
There is no backwards compatibility with wadtool, unfortunately.
I see no way to get it to wadmerger. Maybe if you try to open a compiled level? But even then I don't know if WadMerger is able to read the file.
SrDanielPonces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-22, 17:36   #414
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 33,148
Default

Meh.
I am interested in trying out the recently released water surface 180 turn.
Guess not then.
Will have to wait untill MoA2 is finished and I finally start using TE for real.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-22, 21:37   #415
Kapu
Professor
 
Kapu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 3,770
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titak View Post
Is it possible to somehow export an animation that was made for use in WadTool (.anim file) so it can be used in WADMerger Animation Editor?

I'll be fine with being able to export it to a format that can be opened in 3D Max, like fbx or 3ds.

I noticed WadTool is able to import fbx files but is not able to export them?
Or am I overlooking something?
It is possible in a very roundabout way!

This is what I did to accomplish it:

Opened a level wad in WADTool and imported the animations into the Lara object, saved and exited
Opened TE and loaded the WAD2 file I was just working with in WADTool. Complied the level and exited
Open the compiled .TR4 file in FexAnim and exported the new animations to .ms3d
(This is where it gets weird) Loaded a different .tr4 file in FexAnim. In my case I used the stock angkor.tr4 file that comes bundled with the editor. Then I imported the .ms3d animations into the LARA object. Saved and exited
Opened WADMerger and used the Load TR level option to load the updated angkor.tr4 file
Went to the LARA object, found the imported animations and exported to TRW

WADMerger can't rip WADs from TE complied levels, hence the use of the untouched, WADMerger-friendly angkor.tr4 file. It adds and extra step, but in this fashion it's possible to back-port WADTool animations to WADMerger. I'll PM you the files so you don't have to go through this whole process Titak, but for future reference for everyone, here's a way to do it!

Last edited by Kapu; 17-01-22 at 21:38.
Kapu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-22, 18:49   #416
not again!
Archaeologist
 
not again!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,084
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapu View Post
It is possible in a very roundabout way!

This is what I did to accomplish it:
Thank you so much for sharing this info, Kapu! This is incredibly helpful.
I'm working on fixing the arm rotation for all the original animations that suffer from collapsing shoulder joints. I aim to keep the animations as untouched as possible and only fix the shoulder joint issue and to accomplish this I have been using sapper's TRW Editor that lets you export .trw animations to CSV spread sheet files. Once you have the animation as CSV file it's easy to copy-paste parts of an animation and I've been using this to correct the arm rotation values of the original animations.
During a lot of the affected hanging and grabbing animations the arms actually move very little (or not at all), so those animations could be fixed using only WadMerger and sapper's TRW Editor, but obviously this isn't going to work for more complex animations where the arms actually move, like the shimmy animations.

Having a way to convert animations from WadTool back to .trw is a massive help since now I can use Blender to re-create the arms part of the shimmy animations and will still be able to merge the corrected arm rotation into the original animation.
not again! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-22, 20:38   #417
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 33,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapu View Post
It is possible in a very roundabout way!

This is what I did to accomplish it:
Oh, gotta try that.
Thank you for your PM as well.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-22, 07:25   #418
MyRaider4Life
Tomb Raider
 
MyRaider4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 10,223
Default

Wasn't really sure whether to post this in here or the general chat, however...

Would anybody know why I'm getting the following errors when compiling my level?

Quote:
Texture (<53.25, 242>, <53.25, 246>, <-0.04, 246>, <-0.04, 242>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<53.25, 246>, <53.25, 251>, <-0.04, 251>, <-0.04, 246>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.96, 166>, <166, 166>, <166, 178>, <-0.96, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.1, 181>, <167, 181>, <167, 114>, <-0.1, 114>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.1, 113.5>, <167, 113.5>, <167, 178>, <-0.1, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.96, 166>, <166, 166>, <166, 178>, <-0.96, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.1, 114>, <167, 114>, <167, 181>, <-0.1, 181>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.1, 178>, <167, 178>, <167, 113.5>, <-0.1, 113.5>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<167, 181>, <-0.1, 181>, <-0.1, 178>, <167, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.1, 181>, <167, 181>, <167, 178>, <-0.1, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<53.25, 251>, <53.25, 256>, <-0.04, 256>, <-0.04, 251>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<53.25, 242>, <53.25, 246>, <-0.04, 246>, <-0.04, 242>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<53.25, 246>, <53.25, 251>, <-0.04, 251>, <-0.04, 246>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<166, 166>, <-0.96, 166>, <-0.96, 178>, <166, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<166, 166>, <-0.96, 166>, <-0.96, 178>, <166, 178>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
Texture (<-0.04, 256>, <-0.04, 251>, <53.25, 251>, <53.25, 256>) is out of bounds and will be ignored.
I'm importing a custom model into WadTool that's been textured using UVs, with the texture size being 256x256.

Previous models have displayed the texturing error in WadTool which I've been able to fix manually using the texture function in WadTool stopping the above error, but this one doesn't display on the model and I can't figure out what to do in WadTool to fix it...
MyRaider4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-22, 12:14   #419
not again!
Archaeologist
 
not again!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,084
Default

The UV map must not contain any negative coordinates - your UV map seems to reach a very tiny bit over the edges (-0.04). It's probably safest to leave a bit of margin when UV unwrapping so all vertices stay within the bound of the texture.
not again! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-22, 19:29   #420
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 33,148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapu View Post
It is possible in a very roundabout way!

This is what I did to accomplish it:

Opened a level wad in WADTool and imported the animations into the Lara object, saved and exited
Opened TE and loaded the WAD2 file I was just working with in WADTool. Complied the level and exited
Open the compiled .TR4 file in FexAnim and exported the new animations to .ms3d
(This is where it gets weird) Loaded a different .tr4 file in FexAnim. In my case I used the stock angkor.tr4 file that comes bundled with the editor. Then I imported the .ms3d animations into the LARA object. Saved and exited
Opened WADMerger and used the Load TR level option to load the updated angkor.tr4 file
Went to the LARA object, found the imported animations and exported to TRW

WADMerger can't rip WADs from TE complied levels, hence the use of the untouched, WADMerger-friendly angkor.tr4 file. It adds and extra step, but in this fashion it's possible to back-port WADTool animations to WADMerger. I'll PM you the files so you don't have to go through this whole process Titak, but for future reference for everyone, here's a way to do it!
So...
Got the animations you sent me to work properly.

They were not working properly at first: Lara was glitching out like crazy before ending up facing the opposite direction.
So I figured I'd have a look at the animations in 3D Max to see if anything was different from what I could see in WADMerger Animation Editor.
Turns out both animations had like a 100 extra frames in between the first consecutive frames and the last one, but these frames had no keys assigned.
So I moved the last key to the end of the consecutive frames and deleted all the empty ones, ending up with the proper number of frames (and keys).
That made the animations work.

Great animations!
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 19:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.