www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Tutorials and Resources

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-10, 08:18   #31
Raymond
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,689
Default

Horizontal Platforms:
You should have read this: "I was surprised, that this idea works indeed, but with some slight limitations. If Lara comes very close to the edges of the platform, it may happen, that Lara falls through the platform and if Lara would jump against the thin edge of the platform, she would move through it. So you have to take this in account."
Obviously Lara can´t grab the edge.
Vertical Platforms:
I think, this could be done. You can build a GT in the same manner, as I have done for the transporting on horizontal ledges. As conditions you use, that Lara performs the grab animation and is close to the platform. Then you have also to tell, in which direction Lara should move in conjunction with the platform via variable use. Unfortunately Lara can´t be moved up/downward with a Lara(Physiscs)-flipeffect, as it works for the horizontal movement. But you can do an looping Organizer, which is triggered with the GT and which moves Lara with an Action trigger (Move. Move down/up <#>animating for (E)units (one sector = 1024)) certain units per frame, so that she has the same velocity as the platform.
Raymond is offline  
Old 21-10-10, 14:31   #32
-Brutus-
Student
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presumably on Earth.
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
1. Trigger events in dependence of the facing of the turn switch[/B]
You can read the facing o the turn switch in the item memory zone of the switch (Facing Horizontal).
You can copy this facing to a choosen common variable and then you can then trigger your wished triggers with the help of 4 GT´s (one for each direction) in dependence of the value of the choosen common variable (for instance if you want to open one door for each direction and close the others in a setup with four doors).
Another possible use of this would be to have several switches, where each switch has to be turned in a certain direction to trigger a certain event (open a door for instance). For each switch you would trigger a flipeffect to set a certain bit in a variable, if the facing is correct and clear the bit for all other directions. Then you create a GT, which opens the door, if all bits are set(all switch are turned in the right direction).
I don't understand anything of it. Where do I find the item memory zone?
-Brutus- is offline  
Old 21-10-10, 15:07   #33
Raymond
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,689
Default

Study the documentation of Paolones variables tut. There you see, that certain engine varibles are stored in different so called memory zones. One of these zones is the item memory zone. Here you can manipulate by variables flipeffects the properties of moveables in your project by changing the variables values.
Raymond is offline  
Old 21-10-10, 18:48   #34
-Brutus-
Student
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presumably on Earth.
Posts: 116
Default

Ok, I will take a look

Edit;

Ok, I have the variables in the diagnostics. Now I have to make a 4 global triggers that only react when the long variable is true.

That part I still don't understand. How to put the variable as condition in a global trigger.

Last edited by -Brutus-; 22-10-10 at 14:15.
-Brutus- is offline  
Old 22-10-10, 15:23   #35
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,824
Default

There are some condition triggers that deal with variables.
You can export those, put them in TriggerGroup(s) and then the TG's go into the GlobalTriggers.



I just noticed your signature!
Simple but brilliant!
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline  
Old 22-10-10, 17:55   #36
-Brutus-
Student
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presumably on Earth.
Posts: 116
Default

Thanks, it's almost working.

It's just a little bit of trial and error right now.

And thanks for the comment about my signature.

Last edited by -Brutus-; 22-10-10 at 17:56.
-Brutus- is offline  
Old 22-10-10, 18:04   #37
Titak
Moderator
 
Titak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Drenthe, The Netherlands
Posts: 32,824
Default

I'm sure you'll figure it out.
And if not, well, you know where to post your questions.

Not that I'm such an expert on variables, which I still know very little off, but Raymond is always willing to help out if he knows an answer.
__________________
If it walks like a duck and if it quacks like a duck, it is a duck.
Titak is offline  
Old 23-10-10, 19:40   #38
-Brutus-
Student
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presumably on Earth.
Posts: 116
Default

Ok, I'm stuck.

This is what i've done:

; Exporting: TRIGGER(54:0) for ACTION(0)
; <#> : TURN_SWITCH ID 0 in sector (5,5) of Room0
; <&> : Variables. Set the index of <#>moveable as Selected Item
; (E) :
; Values to add in script command: $5000, 0, $36

; Exporting: TRIGGER(7504:0) for FLIPEFFECT(256)
; <#> : Variables. Memory. Copy to <&> Numeric Variable the (E)Selected Item Memory
; <&> : Local Short Alfa1
; (E) : Facing Horizontal (Short)
; Values to add in script command: $2000, 256, $1D50

With these two I've made a triggergroup.

TriggerGroup= 1,$5000,0,$36,$2000,256,$1D50
GlobalTrigger= 1,IGNORE,GT_ALWAYS,IGNORE,IGNORE,1,IGNORE

Now I get this data:

Face East: s1= 0
Face South: s1= 16384
Face West: s1= -32768
face North: s1=-16384

then I've 2 trigger groups for east and south.

; Exporting: CONDITION(43:0) for PARAMETER(80)
; <#> : Local Short Alfa1
; <&> : Variables. The <#>Numeric Variable is = than (E)Value
; (E) : Value= 31
; Values to add in script command: $8000, 80, $1F2B

; Exporting: TRIGGER(282:0) for ACTION(3)
; <#> : DOOR_TYPE1 ID 3 in sector (5,7) of Room0
; <&> : Trigger. (Door) (E)Open/Close <#>door
; (E) : Open the door
; Values to add in script command: $5000, 3, $11A

TriggerGroup= 2,$8000, 80, $1F28,$5000, 3, $11A
GlobalTrigger= 2,IGNORE,GT_ALWAYS,IGNORE,IGNORE,2,IGNORE

This door opens normal

I've done the same thing for the other door, but with an other value in the condition trigger. Now both doors open wenn the turn_switch is facing east and don't open with an other direction.
-Brutus- is offline  
Old 23-10-10, 19:58   #39
Raymond
Archaeologist
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,689
Default

Not bad, but you haven´t fully understood the GT-syntax. If you want use a condition in a condition triggergroup, then use GT_CONDITION_GROUP. So alltogether it looks like this:
TriggerGroup= 2,$8000, ...(why you choose value 31 and not 0, for facing east? So change this.)
TriggerGroup= 3,$5000, 3, $11A
TriggerGroup= 4, ... TG to close the door, if condition isn´t fullfilled (switch not facing east)
GlobalTrigger= 2,IGNORE,GT_CONDITION_GROUP,IGNORE,2,3,4
Similarly you do for the other door.
Raymond is offline  
Old 23-10-10, 20:19   #40
-Brutus-
Student
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Presumably on Earth.
Posts: 116
Default

; Exporting: CONDITION(40:62) for PARAMETER(80)
; <#> : Local Short Alfa1
; <&> : Variables. The <#>Numeric Variable is = than (E)Big Number value
; (E) : Value ???
; Values to add in script command: $8000, 80, $28

What value do I have to use? Cause they are al still opening wenn it is facing east.
-Brutus- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 13:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.