www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19-08-08, 05:10   #1
Ivan92
Historian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Serbia
Posts: 349
Default Overclocking GPU-need advice!

OK now i've overclocked my gigabyte nvidia GeForce 8800GTs(512MB)
I've increased the core by 110Mhz and the memory clock by 173Mhz, and also I increased the fan speed from 37% to 71% and everything seems fine but how will I know if it isn't? I mean first I see everythings fine and the next thing I know is that My GPU melted.I dont want that to happen to me so if anybody tell me what are the main symptoms that my system will show if I overclocked my GPU too much I would be very greatful
Ivan92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 06:11   #2
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Arrow

1. To know temperatures of your GPU and VRAM you can use EVEREST.

2. Symptoms:
  • Slowdown
  • FPS drop
  • Texture drop
  • Graphical glitches - colored pixels/lines

BTW, what program did you use to overclock?
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 06:18   #3
Ivan92
Historian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Serbia
Posts: 349
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscondeR View Post
1. To know temperatures of your GPU and VRAM you can use EVEREST.

2. Symptoms:
  • Slowdown
  • FPS drop
  • Texture drop
  • Graphical glitches - colored pixels/lines

BTW, what program did you use to overclock?
Riva Tuner version 2.09 I heard it's the best for overclocking
I aalready have a program that measures temperature it's called GPU-Z, but I dont know wich temperature is considered overheating. My recent temperature is 50 degres.Is it too much?

Last edited by Ivan92; 19-08-08 at 06:23.
Ivan92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 06:34   #4
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ivan92 View Post
Riva Tuner version 2.09 I heard it's the best for overclocking
I aalready have a program that measures temperature it's called GPU-Z, but I dont know wich temperature is considered overheating. My recent temperature is 50 degres.Is it too much?
Yup Riva Tuner is the best - it shows you the safe range of overclocking besides.

50 centigrade is low, nothing to worry about. You must consider installing better cooling system or lower the frequency if you come over 80 under load.
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 06:35   #5
Ivan92
Historian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Serbia
Posts: 349
Default

Thank you for your help
Ivan92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 07:11   #6
Lara_Zoz2006
Professor
 
Lara_Zoz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: High Wycombe|Female|
Posts: 3,899
Default

Ok i just downloaded the software coz when i first got this pc it was OC by the factory to 3.67Ghz, but someone came and chnaged the motherbaord an graphics cards and now its just 3ghz so how do i get it back up to 3.67
__________________
old Lara would meet the new what would she tell her? you will become a legend
Lara_Zoz2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 07:15   #7
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Arrow

^ To change the CPU clock you need to use BIOS settings.

Try first entering BIOS (by pressing F2 or Del at boot) and reset settings to defaults - this will make BIOS determine your CPU type and settings automatically, so it must return to factory settings.

Riva Tuner is used to alter GPU frequencies only - not your case.
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 07:18   #8
Lara_Zoz2006
Professor
 
Lara_Zoz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: High Wycombe|Female|
Posts: 3,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscondeR View Post
^ To change the CPU clock you need to use BIOS settings.

Try first entering BIOS (by pressing F2 or Del at boot) and reset settings to defaults - this will make BIOS determine your CPU type and settings automatically, so it must return to factory settings.

Riva Tuner is used to alter GPU frequencies only - not your case.
Oh ok will reseting factory settings wipe windows or anything ?
__________________
old Lara would meet the new what would she tell her? you will become a legend
Lara_Zoz2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 07:28   #9
EscondeR
Legend
 
EscondeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Russia
Posts: 51,189
Arrow

Nope, obviously. Nothing to do with Windows
__________________
The Truth is out there...
EscondeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-08, 08:18   #10
Lara_Zoz2006
Professor
 
Lara_Zoz2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: High Wycombe|Female|
Posts: 3,899
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EscondeR View Post
Nope, obviously. Nothing to do with Windows
yeahhhhh i did it thankl u
__________________
old Lara would meet the new what would she tell her? you will become a legend
Lara_Zoz2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.