www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Series > Tomb Raider Legend

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-03-11, 03:26   #1
radewagon
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default Trilogy Legend better in 480p!!!

This may sound strange.

While playing Legend, I noticed that there was a strange imperfection in the visual quality that seemed oddly reminiscent of early PS3 Backwards Compatibility scaling. It's an odd step ladder type pattern that shows up in the image.

Example of PS3 PS2 BC problem from youtube:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IoCD9TwLrVs

Example of TR Trio Legend in 720p: link
Notice the hair line. There are large sequential steps a bit too large to just be regular aliasing.

Also, notice that the eye (look around the eyelashes) is also effected by this step pattern. link

Thinking that forcing 1080p would help, I unchecked 720p in the XMB. Instead of using 1080p like some games, TR Trio just defaults to 480p. However, in 480p, the visual bug disappears.

This is 480p's hairline (link). There are still steps, but they appear to be regular aliasing steps and not nearly as distracting as the ones in 720p.

Also, here is the eye in 480p (link). Again, no annoying steps.

I'm not really sure what's going on in these pictures, but it seems like it's probably a patchable bug. I'd like to know if anyone else notices this or can replicate it on their systems as well. For now, I'm pretty certain that my eyes AREN'T playing tricks on me. Lastly, the problem does not show up in Anniversary or Underworld. It is only a Legend issue.

Anyone know who to contact about fixing this? Or anyone here know someone who contributes to Kotaku to give them a heads up? Be nice if this was patched as this is probably one of the reasons people are saying that Legend is the least attractive of the bunch. It's obviously the oldest title, but this graphics bug isn't helping the situation.

EDIT: I have sent a, hopefully, friendly worded email to the good people at buzzmonkey about this and am awaiting a response.

Last edited by radewagon; 25-03-11 at 15:42. Reason: New information
radewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 03:32   #2
mudkip25
Professor
 
mudkip25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Salem, Oregon
Posts: 3,766
Default

edit: Did you set your PS3 so that it can work with an HD TV?
__________________
If it walks like a quack and if it ducks like a quack, it is a quack.

Last edited by mudkip25; 25-03-11 at 03:33.
mudkip25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 03:35   #3
radewagon
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mudkip25 View Post
edit: Did you set your PS3 so that it can work with an HD TV?
Yeah, I'm using a 1080p 60hz HD set with video outputting through HDMI.
radewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 03:51   #4
ZIP!2009
Archaeologist
 
ZIP!2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,626
Thumbs up

Sorry, I dont have any constructive idea's to give you.


But, Welcome to the Forum
__________________
I'M NOTORIOUS.
ZIP!2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 04:51   #5
-Roli-
Relic Hunter
 
-Roli-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,474
Default

I have exactly the same problem, radewagon!
Edit: Do yu have LG television? Or do you use cheap HD cable?

Last edited by -Roli-; 25-03-11 at 04:58.
-Roli- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 06:04   #6
radewagon
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Roli- View Post
I have exactly the same problem, radewagon!
Edit: Do yu have LG television? Or do you use cheap HD cable?
Honestly, I don't think it's a problem with our TV's. I think it's a problem with the way the game has been coded. I think most people are noticing something being not quite right but are not noticing exactly what's going on. Everyone seems to be saying that Legend looks significantly worse than Anniversary, but the difference in release dates wouldn't account for the gap in quality. This visual bug does account for the perceived drop in visual fidelity.

For the record, I am using a 27in 1080p Sammy with a sony brand HDMI cable.
radewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 06:13   #7
TippingWater
Tomb Raider
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 11,793
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Roli- View Post
I have exactly the same problem, radewagon!
Edit: Do yu have LG television? Or do you use cheap HD cable?
You only need expensive and higher quality cables for distances larger than 2m .
TippingWater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 07:19   #8
Spong
Beyond The Floating Islands
 
Spong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 45,260
Default

Anyone thinking of blaming HDMI cables for this, think again.
__________________
Only lies have detail...
Spong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 07:45   #9
jaywalker
Moderator
 
jaywalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wimbledon
Posts: 10,286
Default

Yeh the whole `expensive HDMI cables needed` argument is a big con.. Digital is 1 or 0, nothing in between
__________________
@jaywalker2309. Mastering Manager & Licensing Coordinator :)
jaywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-03-11, 08:04   #10
radewagon
Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spong View Post
Anyone thinking of blaming HDMI cables for this, think again.
Not blaming cables. I'm not sure what to blame. But I'm sure it's not cables or TVs. If it was, then Legend's 480p and Anniversary's 720p wouldn't be free of the bug.
radewagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.