www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor > Next Generation Level Editor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 29-01-16, 21:51   #1
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,748
Default Load/Save Palette

Quoted from Paolone:

Quote:
Load Palette
This is old command "Load Depth Cue", the name has been changed only to get it more understandable.
The palette is a sequence of 256 colors, each color has 24 bits (RGB). This palette is copied also in tom file and then in tr4 file and it should be used when the game works to 256 colors.

Save Palette
This is old command "Save Depth Cue", the name has been changed only to get it more understandable.
Has anybody found these functions useful/useable ever?
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-16, 10:50   #2
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,748
Default

So we can officially say that nobody knows anything about it?

NGLE says I should load DepthQ type files with Load Palette. Google says DepthQ is a projector or what, not a file type, so I don't know what it is.
What is a DepthQ file?
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-16, 12:23   #3
matrix54
Tomb Raider
 
matrix54's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: N/A
Posts: 20,407
Default

I honestly never tried to use it. The palette is set automatically, but I've never been a fan of the colors it picks for me. I certainly would have helped knowing this was a feature, instead of having to manually set each rooms/lights/static objects color by hand, as opposed to clicking on a few little numbs on the bottom.
__________________
Check out "Checkout: Journey to Employee of the Month!"
matrix54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-16, 15:46   #4
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,622
Default

yes, I use it regularly to load a palette that fits my needs for coloring items, lights, shadows and rooms
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-16, 18:21   #5
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,748
Default

You use it to load a palette, psiko?
But how? What is what you load? What file is a palette?
Please tell a little tutorial, this is a feature I've never tried before and I am curious now.

EDIT:
You mean you save sometimes the palette in the bottom of NGLE, and load it for another project, if you want?

Last edited by AkyV; 04-02-16 at 18:30.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-16, 23:33   #6
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkyV View Post
You mean you save sometimes the palette in the bottom of NGLE, and load it for another project, if you want?
yes, but the exported file can be edited with photoshop, it can open pcx format with no problem, if you can set the pixel proportion which is natively weird for "trle pxc" files for an unknown reason (you can open even the edgeptr.pcx with it)
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-16, 11:02   #7
AkyV
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hungary
Posts: 4,748
Default

Thanks for the answer!
Now I know at least this is also a useable/useful feature.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrix54 View Post
I honestly never tried to use it. The palette is set automatically, but I've never been a fan of the colors it picks for me. I certainly would have helped knowing this was a feature, instead of having to manually set each rooms/lights/static objects color by hand, as opposed to clicking on a few little numbs on the bottom.
That is not clearly automatical. It depends on your actual TGA set, so they are, after all, "recommended" colors, based on the texture colors you use, I suppose.

EDIT2:
Psiko, if I load a palette, then object and room textures go strange.
If I save project (to attach the new palette) and then load project, to fix it, then the original palette will be restored.


Last edited by AkyV; 05-02-16 at 11:24.
AkyV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-16, 19:25   #8
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,622
Default

oh, yeah, I forgot that. I use hypersquare method, that involves meta2tr, so I usually use fake tga file with placeholders tiles and this does not give me problems.. because the output wad works all the same and textures are keept with normal colors, not with pixels replaced by my loaded pcx palette file. And in any case, I substitute the texture tiles with meta2tr so everything in the editor is not used in the end. I use my palette of colors to fastly lit my static items, which are placeholders too... so the main purpose for them is only to be placed correctly, to have their collision and to be lit coherently with illumination I create inside 3dsmax (and I try to re-build inside ngle for coherence).

So, yes, maybe for normal users of ngle that feature is bugged.. but anyhow, you can temporarly load your palette to lit items, as in any case the tga will keep its original colors in the tom file created during the output wad process.
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-16, 19:43   #9
TombHackR
Golden
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,377
Default

Wait, so if I understand. Does this feature automatically pick colours based on your TGA file, and they are recommended to be used in coloured lighting?
TombHackR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-16, 20:02   #10
psiko
Archaeologist
 
psiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,622
Default

yes, apart the first 15 colors, that are loaded with default RGB values.
psiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 23:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.