www.tombraiderforums.com  

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Tomb Raider Modding > Tomb Raider Level Editor

Old 01-03-16, 11:37   #1
kunoichi
Explorer

Default play TRLE - for complete beginners

When I wanted to start playing TRLE, I spent a couple of hours trying to figure out how to do it, as I am not a very tec friendly person. The faq thread in this section helped a bit, but I found it hard to trouble shoot all the errors I encountered and I was very close to giving up because I was really frustrated. Eventually, Google was my friend and I figured it out.

So I decided to make this thread to help noobs like me to play TRLE, illustrating every single step you need to make, starting from scratch. It may look complicated, but in reality it’s really simple. I hope this tutorial helps.

1 - DOWNLOAD TRLE
• I strongly suggest you create a desktop folder caller TRLE, to make your life easier
• Go to stella’s tomb raider site TRLE section: http://tombraiders.net/stella/trle.html
• Download the TRLE zip, and extract the files to your desktop TRLE folder

• You may skip this step for more recent levels, as they come with all the files you need

2 - DOWNLOAD LEVELS/GAMES
• Go to tlre website: http://www.trle.net/
• Download any game/level you desire.. You can browse the levels by type, difficulty and user score.
• Click the download button

• Unzip it to you TRLE folder. I suggest you create a folder for each different level.
• This is what most levels will look like:

• Note the tomb4.exe
• To play you only need to double click the tomb4.exe file. However, most of the times this will create errors, or wonky looking games. We need to create a setup file.

3 - SETUP AND PLAY THE GAMES TROUBLE FREE
•Although not always necessary, I strongly recommend that you create a setup tomb4 file, otherwise you won’t be able to choose your game settings and errors may occur.