www.tombraiderforums.com

Go Back   www.tombraiderforums.com > Community Forums > Technical Support

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30-10-04, 06:55   #1
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Question

Hello people, right.

I have made an external hard drive, using a Hard Drive caddy i think it is known as, and bought a hard drive to put in it, i fixed it together, made sure the pins are connected, and then plugged it in via USB, unfortunately, the computer says it is an "Unknown" Device, and i do not know what to do, i got a driver that came with the case but nothing else.

Does anyone have a clue, should i do a windows scan?

Clueless here, i have thousands of USB things, so i just assumed one driver i have should really work for all?

*Oh by the way, the postman came at 7:30 in the morning because it was Recorded Delivery, what are the chances of Royal Mail" being that efficient the only time i can remember the postman being here that early was when i was 12.
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-04, 07:00   #2
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Arrow

It does say the device is working properly, but the device does not appear in "My Computer" as a Hard drive or anything for that matter;
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-04, 13:06   #3
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Unhappy

Maybe i have to format it maybe, Argh, i have a hnag over i dont need this,
*starts to cry
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-04, 13:15   #4
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Arrow




Mmmm, now the hard drive does seem to be making clicking noises, i will dissmantle, now..

Ths is what ya get for trying to be clever kids, looking at all my USB stuff,

I am suprised i lasted this long until i had a failure
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-04, 13:45   #5
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Unhappy

DIGGIN A HOLE

[ 30. October 2004, 14:47: Message edited by: SpArKy ]
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-04, 20:02   #6
Joseph
Junior Member
 
Joseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 29,553
Post

Hi Sparky. You said
Quote:
should i do a windows scan?
, well have you tried that? Rightclick "My Computer / Properties / Hardware / Wizard Add New Hardware.
Joseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-04, 10:38   #7
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Post

Erm, its there and detected, and working properly, but not showing an icon in my computer, is there anyway i can access the drive another way.
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-04, 10:40   #8
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Post

It seems to be fine now, windows IS detecting it, it iIS shown as a USB hard Drive in device manager, but i havent got a clue how to access the drive.
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-04, 10:52   #9
Neteru
Tomb Raider
 
Neteru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Albion
Posts: 21,235
Post

Go to Control Panel/Administrative Tools/Computer Management and select the Disk Management section under the Storage heading on the left pane. You should then be able to see your new disk in the right pane. It may well be identified as Not Initialized. In which case, select it in the right pane and right click, choosing Initialize Disk and the wizard will guide you through the process. You will then need to set up the partition by right clicking and selecting New Partition and you will again be guided by the wizard.
Neteru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-04, 11:11   #10
SpArKy
Professor
 
SpArKy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: London,England....Apparently! o_0
Posts: 4,609
Arrow



I am loving you today Net, thankyou so much, it is formatting it now, hope this is all that is required, i new it needed to be Initialised after looking at its properties within Device Manager, as you and Joseph have taught me.

But while it formats am gonna sit and smile for a bit longer, and read the other thread on the icons, get back to it Netty boy, well man!
SpArKy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.